Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Photoshop Elements Techniques Subscriber Section > Photoshop Elements Techniques Site Queries & Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 8th, 2013, 04:40 PM
CEHARRIS3's Avatar
CEHARRIS3 CEHARRIS3 is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Punta Gorda southwest Florida
Posts: 575
Images: 1
Send a message via ICQ to CEHARRIS3 Send a message via Skype™ to CEHARRIS3
Printing HDR files

I cant seem to figure out what to do to print my HDRs. After I create them, and they are in photoshop, my printer (Epson Stylus Pro 3880) does not respond to the print command. My resulting file is a 32-bit tiff. When I try to convert it to a 16-bit (with image-mode), the file looks completely different. I can't seem to find any info on this matter, I come up empty handed. Any help would be appreciated. I feel I must convert the resulting 32-bit file somhow, but I don't know how..
__________________
Nikon 300D, AFS Nikkor 70-300 1:4.5-5.6G, AFS DX VR Nikkor 18-200/3.5-5.6G ED, AF Nikkor 50mm 1.4D, AF-S MicroNikkor 105mm 1:2.8G ED, AF-S MicroNikkor 60/2.8 ED, AF-S Nikkor 85mm 1.4G, Windows 7, PSE5, PSE9, PSE12, CS5, 12GIG RAM Dell XPS 8300, Wacom Intuos4, Epson Stylus Pro 3880, Topaz Bundle. NIK collection
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 8th, 2013, 07:19 PM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,799
Images: 10
Sounds like you need to go through the tone mapping step and save as 16 or 8 bit. 32 bit aren't displayable/printable files. See http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tut...amic-range.htm

Tony
__________________
Win7-64/PSE/11/12/13/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS9/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 9th, 2013, 02:08 AM
speters's Avatar
speters speters is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grangeville, ID
Posts: 2,016
Images: 157
I print with the same printer and never had that kind of problem. I does not matter if the file is 16 bit or 8 bit, it always prints fine. I do not use photomatix (even though I have it on my computer), but Photoshop, which I find easier to use and it gives me a lot more options and ways to create my HDR's.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PC- Win7/64 bit, 3Ghz, 8GB Ram, 1TB HD, 2TB EHD,
PSE8 (no more),CS5 Extended,-Epson Stylus1440, Epson Artisan 810, Epson Stylus Pro 3880
Cameras:
Film: Pentax 645nII, Canon EOS 1v, - Glass: SMC-A 645 35mm f/3.5, SMC-A 55mm f/2.8, SMC-FA 75mm f/2.8, SMC-A 150mm f/3.5, SMC-FA 120mm f/4 macro, SMC-FA 45-85mm f/4.5. SMC-A 80-160mm f/4.5

Digital: Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EOS 5D Mark III - Glass: EF 28-135mmf/3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L II USM, EF 70-200mm f2.8 L IS II USM, EF 400mm f/5.6 L USM, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 135mm f/2.0L USM, MP 65mm/2.8 1x-5x macro lens Teleconverter 1.4x III, Flash: 2x 580EXII, 1x 600EX RT. 1x ST-3E RT, 3x Pocket Wizard TT5

Tripods and Monopods by Canon, Monostat, Sunpak, Slik, Manfrotto,Sirui and Sachtler

"Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 9th, 2013, 03:11 PM
CEHARRIS3's Avatar
CEHARRIS3 CEHARRIS3 is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Punta Gorda southwest Florida
Posts: 575
Images: 1
Send a message via ICQ to CEHARRIS3 Send a message via Skype™ to CEHARRIS3
I poorly worded my query

The problem I am having is with NIK-PRO2. This program gives you the option of creating the merged (HDR) file as a "smart object". Thus, the HDR-Program acts as a "smart filter". This allows you to go directly back into the NIK-PRO2 for further editing (such as changing pre-sets, etc) without having to dump the HDR and go through the process of re-merging the source files. My problem is that the resultant file is a 32-bit file. If I try fo change the image mode to 16-bit, the entire image changes its appearance. How can I change the 32-bit file to a 16-bit which I can print. That is my problem. Sorry I explained it so poorly the first time>
__________________
Nikon 300D, AFS Nikkor 70-300 1:4.5-5.6G, AFS DX VR Nikkor 18-200/3.5-5.6G ED, AF Nikkor 50mm 1.4D, AF-S MicroNikkor 105mm 1:2.8G ED, AF-S MicroNikkor 60/2.8 ED, AF-S Nikkor 85mm 1.4G, Windows 7, PSE5, PSE9, PSE12, CS5, 12GIG RAM Dell XPS 8300, Wacom Intuos4, Epson Stylus Pro 3880, Topaz Bundle. NIK collection
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 9th, 2013, 06:01 PM
Hatter's Avatar
Hatter Hatter is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, England
Posts: 260
Images: 3
I think Tony's answer was the right one - the "HDR" files can't be printed or even displayed properly on a monitor. You need to tone-map them into a 16 (or 8) bit image first.
__________________
Gareth Kitchener

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 18th, 2013, 01:17 AM
speters's Avatar
speters speters is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grangeville, ID
Posts: 2,016
Images: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEHARRIS3 View Post
The problem I am having is with NIK-PRO2. This program gives you the option of creating the merged (HDR) file as a "smart object". Thus, the HDR-Program acts as a "smart filter". This allows you to go directly back into the NIK-PRO2 for further editing (such as changing pre-sets, etc) without having to dump the HDR and go through the process of re-merging the source files. My problem is that the resultant file is a 32-bit file. If I try fo change the image mode to 16-bit, the entire image changes its appearance. How can I change the 32-bit file to a 16-bit which I can print. That is my problem. Sorry I explained it so poorly the first time>
That too is one of the reasons I use Photoshop for creating HDR's, as that program allows me to jump right back to any point in the processing to make changes if I feel so, even after the HDR is done.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PC- Win7/64 bit, 3Ghz, 8GB Ram, 1TB HD, 2TB EHD,
PSE8 (no more),CS5 Extended,-Epson Stylus1440, Epson Artisan 810, Epson Stylus Pro 3880
Cameras:
Film: Pentax 645nII, Canon EOS 1v, - Glass: SMC-A 645 35mm f/3.5, SMC-A 55mm f/2.8, SMC-FA 75mm f/2.8, SMC-A 150mm f/3.5, SMC-FA 120mm f/4 macro, SMC-FA 45-85mm f/4.5. SMC-A 80-160mm f/4.5

Digital: Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EOS 5D Mark III - Glass: EF 28-135mmf/3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L II USM, EF 70-200mm f2.8 L IS II USM, EF 400mm f/5.6 L USM, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 135mm f/2.0L USM, MP 65mm/2.8 1x-5x macro lens Teleconverter 1.4x III, Flash: 2x 580EXII, 1x 600EX RT. 1x ST-3E RT, 3x Pocket Wizard TT5

Tripods and Monopods by Canon, Monostat, Sunpak, Slik, Manfrotto,Sirui and Sachtler

"Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch files for printing Grammy Photoshop Elements Editor 3 October 18th, 2009 11:10 PM
Printing .pdf files tnwaltz Photoshop Elements Editor 2 September 22nd, 2008 09:19 AM
Printing TIF files from the Organiser - PSE4 Codebreaker Photoshop Elements Editor 11 March 25th, 2008 12:48 PM
Kodak printing vs InkJet printing Helmar Photoshop Elements Editor 8 May 8th, 2006 10:49 AM
printing tutorial pdf files crackersaretwo@yahoo.com Photoshop Elements Editor 2 March 15th, 2006 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.