Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old July 22nd, 2012, 09:57 PM
quailbird quailbird is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
I'm a minister so I couldn't get back on till now! I do appreciate every one who is trying to help me! My problem is I have tried tiling, and got the two pictures tiled side beside, but do you think I could drag one into the other? NO! There was a great video tutorial on this and I followed it to a tee! With no luck! Then I learned to extract using "Magic Extractor" and I learned how to doctor it up so it looks good, but for the life of me, I cannot get another background on to the panel way over to the right where the layer 1 is and get a background under neath at the same time. When I click on one, the other disappears. Have you ever heard the expression, "It can make a preacher want to cuss"! Well, I don't cuss, but I'm close to it! I have put 8 or 9 hours solid on this and nothing works! I'm beginning to think that my download of elements 10 is bad! I have gotten the crawling ants around my image and went to Edit, and hit copy, then opened up my other photo and hit edit and Paste, and nothing! (Sigh) Maybe I can learn how to "Mask"!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 22nd, 2012, 11:07 PM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,069
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by quailbird View Post
. . . but for the life of me, I cannot get another background on to the panel way over to the right where the layer 1 is and get a background under neath at the same time. When I click on one, the other disappears.
quailbird,

Do not give up! You are almost there.

I think the key to solve this puzzle lies in what you said in the quote above. This should not be happening, if you were dragging one image onto the other in the workspace.

See if this example will help you.

I open two images. I am using the Tile mode; the two images are displayed in the workspace side by side. My goal is to place the Gradient Art image on the green background. The first thing I do is click on the Gradient Art image to activate it. If you look in the Layers panel, you will see the layer thumbnail for this image.




Note: Even if you have two images displayed in the workspace, the Layers panel will only show the layer thumbnail for the active image. For example, if I click on the green background image to activate it, the thumbnail in the Layers panel will change accordingly, i.e., the one for the green background will now be displayed.

Next I activate the Move Tool and (in the workspace) I drag the Gradient Art image over to the green background. That's it!



Note: Check the Layers panel. It reflects what just happened. It shows two layers -- the Gradient Art with the green background underneath it.
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain

Last edited by Sepiana; July 23rd, 2012 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 02:18 AM
JAW's Avatar
JAW JAW is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 1,665
Hi quailbird,

Welcome to the village forum. Glad to have you with us.

Quote:
Now, I want to place that image into another background! When I open up another background, I see both photos down at the bottom on my elements but only one over in the right where the layers are! When I try to put the background over there, my main picture disappears!
In his last sentence
Quote:
When I try to put the background over there, my main picture disappears!
I think, when he says "over there" - he is referring to putting or pasting the object over in the layer panel and not on the background in the full edit area.

Now, I may be entirely wrong when I read that, but to me it just seemed like he was trying to move the baby into the car background by way of the layer panel or pallet and not the car background - in the Full Edit area.

I may be reading something more into his post, but I hope I'm not.

Since he can obtain the baby (he has the marching ants) and he can use the move tool on the baby - now it's just a matter of moving the baby into the car that is located in the full edit area - not into the layer panel area.
Dragging or copying and pasting the baby into the car in the full edit area should work.

Let us know if I am blowing smoke or that my smoke signals were just what you needed. Hope, I was right. I kinda put myself out on a limb - so to speak and hope I'm right in my thinking.

Regards,

Jim
__________________
Jim - (aka-JAW) The Old Village Codger - One of the village people - iMac, OS Leopard, 3GB, PSE6.
Today is the oldest I've ever been and the youngest I'll ever be.
QUOTE: by "twoaussies": "The World is not to be rushed through, but slowly savored".
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 02:43 AM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,069
Images: 59
That's why I said in my previous post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepiana View Post
quailbird,

Do not give up! You are almost there.

I think the key to solve this puzzle lies in what you said in the quote above. This should not be happening, if you were dragging one image onto the other in the workspace.
The screen shots I attached in my previous post should clear up the confusion.
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain

Last edited by Sepiana; July 23rd, 2012 at 03:25 AM. Reason: Fix sentence.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 07:30 AM
cats4jan's Avatar
cats4jan cats4jan is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,759
Images: 22
Jim - I got the same vibe from his comment, i.e., that he is trying to drag/drop onto the layers panel. I think Sepiana's screenshots will solve his confusion.

To really confuse the matter, you can drag/drop one or more layers from the layers panel onto another project tiled in the edit screen. You just cannot drag/drop between layers panels. Maybe he used to do it that way and that's why he's confused.
__________________
Janice
______________
Mac w/Mountain Lion PSE11
Epson R1900; Epson NX430 Printers
Nikon Coolpix S8200 Camera


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 09:06 AM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,069
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by cats4jan View Post
To really confuse the matter, you can drag/drop one or more layers from the layers panel onto another project tiled in the edit screen. You just cannot drag/drop between layers panels. Maybe he used to do it that way and that's why he's confused.
Janice,

To confuse the matter even further, you can drag/drop from the Project Bin to the workspace and this wouldn't require the display arrangement to be in the Tile mode. However, if quailbird is trying to drag from the Project Bin to the Layers panel, this may explain the remarks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by quailbird View Post

I do not necessarily want to tile two photos!

When I open up another background, I see both photos down at the bottom on my elements . . .

When I try to put the background over there, my main picture disappears! When I click the the main baby picture, my background goes away!
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 09:48 AM
Preeb's Avatar
Preeb Preeb is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northeastern Colorado
Posts: 883
Images: 4
Thanks for the tip. I'm not the OP, but I've been following this thread. I had always before just made a selection, put it on its own layer with Ctrl+J in the source .psd, then copy and paste to the base image, which seems to work just about the same, now that I think about it. The only advantage I can see is that you already have to move tool active so you just position it where you want to, whereas I have to then switch to the move tool. But using the copy/paste method you have the selection on the clipboard so you can paste it as many times as you like.

I also like having some subjects on their own layer with a transparent background because it makes them easy to select and copy or move to multiple background images. For instance, it's fast and easy to add one or two seagulls to a beach landscape that way, or add a full moon into an evening landscape.

(You really didn't think that beautiful moon was always just there, did you? )
__________________
Rick
Canon 60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5 - EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS - EF 70-200 f4 L IS - EF 100mm f2.8 L IS macro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by Preeb; July 23rd, 2012 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 10:22 AM
quailbird quailbird is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Guys and Gals, I'm back on my computer so I'll be trying all these tips, and once again, a big thanks for the help! What exactly is the "Move Tool"! Maybe that is what I'm missing here!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 10:40 AM
ladybug's Avatar
ladybug ladybug is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 7,136
Images: 88
Definitely do not give up you will get there.
Here is the move tool.
move tool.jpg
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

JUDY windows 7 pro- cs5 on 64bit os

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old July 23rd, 2012, 10:46 AM
Hankw Hankw is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fallbrook Ca
Posts: 551
Images: 27
Good Morning

Here is a video concerning the move tool.

Keep the suggestions above foremost in your mind . This little video shows you the basics of the move tool, and what it will, and will not do.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=urM1ncO5KqU
__________________
HankW, PSE10, PhotoshopCC, fujifilm f40fd(P&S), Fujifilm HS20, Nikon D40, 18-55 Kit lens, 55-200mm VR zoom, 35mm f 1.8, Windows 7,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Templates Won't Open Into Layer Panel annmarie Photoshop Elements Editor 4 November 24th, 2011 08:32 PM
Can't Access Layer Style from the Layer Panel Blanco111 Photoshop Elements Editor 17 August 13th, 2011 05:32 PM
My layer panel disappeared from my workspace pbkf1008 Photoshop Elements Editor 1 May 27th, 2010 06:46 PM
Can I layer 2 different photos? ckelloggjr Photoshop Elements Editor 4 May 23rd, 2007 10:19 AM
Black photos in media panel guitarman3 Premiere Elements 1 January 16th, 2007 03:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.