Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Old March 6th, 2006, 12:57 AM
New Forum User

Creating a poster with multiple images

I'm new to photoshop and I am trying to create a collage of 50 photos, each three inches in height, on a black background. I plan to save this to a disc and then have it printed as a 24" X 36" poster. I think that I need to begin with a new blank document using these dimensions and then indivdually add each photo to that black document, but I have no idea how to drag and drop these pictures from the file folder to the blank document. I am also unable to figureout how to make the background black. Please help!
Old March 6th, 2006, 02:59 AM
Enlightened Elder

Hi there ...

... and welcome to the forum

Well you have the right idea about how to do it ...

There are other ways of doing this but I think that this way maybe the simplest:

Create a new file
File>New>Blank File (use your size settings, RGB and resolution 300)
When you have created the file then do Edit>Fill ... and choose black
There you have your background crreated

To add each little image ...
Open the image
then do Image>Resize>Image Size
under Document size make the height 3 inches and the resolution 300
Make sure that Scale Size, Constrain Proportions and Resample Image (Bicubic) and ticked ..
Now do Select>All
Edit Copy
Next click on your background image
and do Edit>Paste

You will need to do that for each of the images you want to add. Its not too difficult to do but it is time consuming. Its going to end up as quite a large file so unless you have quite a powerful PC it may slow it down a lot ...

If you need anymore help (or don't understand anything) then just ask and one of us will help you

Wendy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.