Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2012, 02:59 PM
JAT's Avatar
JAT JAT is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI
Posts: 83
Images: 4
Unhappy Project Bin...

Okay, I have what might be considered "dumb" questions:

1) Is there some way to get a photo strictly in the project bin and not in the workspace without actually "opening" it up for edit? 2) I'm trying to either drag a photo into a frame, or, merely open it up and place it in the frame; this is just not working out (see question #1)... ARGH!
Everyone here has been so very helpful. In advance, thank you for your suggestions/work/answers/et cetera.

P.S. Maybe? one day I might be able to contribute some useful/helpful information myself.
__________________
JAT
XP Pro; 32-bit, PSE10, ArcSoft, Picasa

Last edited by JAT; March 25th, 2012 at 03:05 PM. Reason: Addendum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2012, 03:23 PM
ken1's Avatar
ken1 ken1 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,982
Exclamation

  1. Open your picture file, and minimize it
  2. Open a blank file (File>new>blank file)
  3. Open the content palette, select a frame, apply
  4. Drag the file from step #1 into the frame from the photo bin. Scale with the little slider, commit
Does this work for you?
__________________
Ken
K&D Photo

PSE8, WIN7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 25th, 2012, 04:22 PM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,424
Images: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
2) I'm trying to either drag a photo into a frame, or, merely open it up and place it in the frame; this is just not working out . . .
Tanya,

Is your question related to the frames which were suggested in your other thread? If so, which frames are you trying to use -- the frame templates from CoffeeShop (post #11) or the ones from PSE Content panel (post #9)?
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12,13 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain

Last edited by Sepiana; March 25th, 2012 at 05:05 PM. Reason: Fix sentence.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2012, 09:37 AM
JAT's Avatar
JAT JAT is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI
Posts: 83
Images: 4
My first question primarily related to my inability to open a picture file strictly in the project bin; after I searched about undocking, which I wasn't able to do and then later figured it out (aha moment), Ken then indicated to just minimize it which I did. The second portion had to do with being unable to figure out how to get my photo into the frame (which I chose (temporarily perhaps) from PSE10). I somehow figured out that issue by trial and error... Interestingly however, for whatever reason, and this is now a third "problem" when I figured out how to enlarge the frame into a blank file the frame itself was crooked - weird I know. Anyway, thats the gist of it. P.S. I haven't had a chance to check out the frames that you so kindly gave me a link to - thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepiana View Post
Tanya,

Is your question related to the frames which were suggested in your other thread? If so, which frames are you trying to use -- the frame templates from CoffeeShop (post #11) or the ones from PSE Content panel (post #9)?
__________________
JAT
XP Pro; 32-bit, PSE10, ArcSoft, Picasa
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2012, 02:11 PM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,424
Images: 58
Hi Tanya, thanks for the clarification!

Here is another way -- it will insert an image in a frame from the Content panel without you first opening your image in PSE.

Follow Ken's steps 2 and 3. Then after applying the frame to the blank file click on the yellow folder icon on the frame (Get a new photo to place in frame). In the window that opens up navigate to your photo and select it. This will place your image in the frame. If needed, use Free Transform to resize and position it inside the frame.

__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12,13 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain

Last edited by Sepiana; March 26th, 2012 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Audio Copy & Paste (or insert) into another project TiLo91 Premiere Elements 4 November 12th, 2011 04:17 PM
Best Way to Obtain Project Assets from Friends & Family: PE9 Project 6mike21 Premiere Elements 3 July 9th, 2011 03:46 PM
Can I can change project presets in a finished/partworked project? Kaybee Premiere Elements 7 March 7th, 2011 07:14 AM
Which project settings for project for Canon Powershot Video Editing? newtoedit Premiere Elements 6 November 18th, 2009 01:02 PM
Can you copy specific tracks from project to project MJM Premiere Elements 1 August 30th, 2008 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.