Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Lightroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2012, 06:21 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,067
Lightroom 4: Tone Curves from LR3.6 not carrying across

*Sigh* I should probably stop poking around in LR4 for fear I'll find more bugs. This one didn't jump out at me initially but LR4 did not retain custom tone curve settings when converting my LR3.6 catalog. Has anyone else noticed this? All you need to do to check is find an image in LR3 to which you made tone curve adjustments before you converted your catalog to LR4 and then open LR4 and see if the adjustments came across. Apparently, this is a known issue and the development team is working on it. Here is a thread with more detail and a reply from Tom Hogarty, LR Product Manager:

http://feedback.photoshop.com/photos...ve_adjustments

By the way, that forum on photoshop.com is apparently the proper place to submit bugs for LR4.
__________________
Julie

Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Last edited by JulieM; March 8th, 2012 at 07:36 AM. Reason: added italicized bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:19 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,518
Images: 12
Thanks Julie: That's a bad bug. I have been a bit cautious and will keep my 3.6 catalogs around for a while - I do like 4 but I can afford to wait a bit before moving over completely.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:28 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,067
I've had such good luck with the full releases in the past and was completely confident that Adobe would be releasing a product free of major bugs. I'm feeling pretty disillusioned now and will be a lot more cautious in future.
__________________
Julie

Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 8th, 2012, 08:01 AM
mrod's Avatar
mrod mrod is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,611
Images: 31
As more and more of these stack up, I think I, too will hang on a bit. No need to rush. Sorry you're taking the brunt of it Julie.
__________________
Mike Rodriguez

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 8th, 2012, 08:27 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrod View Post
As more and more of these stack up, I think I, too will hang on a bit. No need to rush. Sorry you're taking the brunt of it Julie.
My fault for being so eager.
__________________
Julie

Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 8th, 2012, 09:58 AM
baycruisers's Avatar
baycruisers baycruisers is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,478
I'm typically a "marry in haste, repent at leisure" person (figuratively speaking) so I'll wait a bit longer before installing.

<sigh>
__________________
Mario
LR4/PSE11/Nikon Capture NX2/D7000
"Every picture tells a story, don't it?"--Rod Stewart

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 8th, 2012, 10:35 AM
dspec01 dspec01 is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,017
Images: 95
I installed it. Will probably wait for upgrade/fixes before using it. I will use it and the $79 deal was too good to pass up. I do apprecaite the warnings Julie is providing. Thanks1
__________________
Deena


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 8th, 2012, 11:04 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,518
Images: 12
Deena - it's well worth playing around in it for a while anyway before leaping in and using it for serious stuff. That's what I've been doing with a temporary catalog. When I'm happy with it I'll convert over from 3.6 but only when I'm happy it will work as advertised (and I will likely be waiting until ACR 6.7 is available for Elements so they will work together)

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 8th, 2012, 11:19 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by dspec01 View Post
I installed it. Will probably wait for upgrade/fixes before using it. I will use it and the $79 deal was too good to pass up. I do apprecaite the warnings Julie is providing. Thanks1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyW View Post
Deena - it's well worth playing around in it for a while anyway before leaping in and using it for serious stuff. That's what I've been doing with a temporary catalog. When I'm happy with it I'll convert over from 3.6 but only when I'm happy it will work as advertised (and I will likely be waiting until ACR 6.7 is available for Elements so they will work together)

Tony
Deena, I would give it a try. Who knows, you may not have the problems I'm having at all. Or, you could find entirely new ones. But, based on the issues I'm having and the myriad of other ones being reported at the Adobe forum, I would strongly recommend that you not convert your LR3 catalog yet. Instead, go with Tony's suggestion and make up a temporary catalog just to test. I am now planning on doing that so that I can continue to test the different features.

I received my boxed product in the mail today (was planning on installing it on my laptop too) but I may just hold off on that until I'm convinced that LR4 is largely bug-free. If I have to take advantage of the 30-day return policy, I will do that and either live with LR3 or think about Aperture.
__________________
Julie

Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 11th, 2012, 05:48 AM
DawMatt DawMatt is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 111
Hi All,

In case you haven't spotted it, the Product Manager (Tom Hogarty) has acknowledged this problem in the thread Julie linked and the team are working on it. I'm hopeful they will resolve this soon. Sorry you tripped over this issue Julie!

Thanks,
Matt
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
plugin for integrating Lightroom and Photoshop Elements Editor
User: PSE 3 to PSE 11, LR 2 to LR 5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo tone havov Photoshop Elements Editor 14 February 14th, 2011 08:20 AM
tone mapping R Clyde Photoshop Elements Editor 10 July 21st, 2010 02:45 PM
HELP! Red skin Tone deirdreann Photoshop Elements Editor 8 July 15th, 2010 11:07 PM
skin tone scootp Photoshop Elements Editor 2 March 17th, 2010 09:34 PM
Sepia Tone tammyinga Photoshop Elements Editor 2 August 14th, 2006 02:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.