Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Old March 5th, 2012, 12:10 AM
Senior Contributor

Send a message via AIM to victry1 Send a message via Skype™ to victry1
New Camera or New Lens?

I've been shooting with a Canon Rebel T1i for the last almost 3 years and I still have TONS to learn. However, I had started dreaming of upgrading. I even thought I had a shot at a 7D since I have an important (to me LOL) birthday coming up. But, the price went up quite a bit, so that's off the list. It's way more camera than I need but maybe I would grow into it. My Rebel is fine but I do get frustrated with the noise levels after ISO 800 and I would also like something with a little faster fps. I do find myself in a lot of low light shooting situations.

I picked up a secondhand 50D from B&H but didn't get a chance to try it out much as there was a problem with it and I had to send it back. One thing I liked about it was the grip, the fps rate and it's weatherproof. That was also an appeal with the 7D. The price on the 50D was right too.

I was reading on Dpreview about the 60D and it was recommended over a used 40 or 50 D. It does not have as fast a fps as the 50D or 7D and is not weatherproof.

At this point, I think I'm focusing on just learning as much as I can on the camera I have but maybe investing in a lens at some point.

I'd be interested in hearing other's POV. Thanks!

Eleanor

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

iMac, PSE 11, CS5, iPhone 5S, Rebel T1i, Canon 7D,
Old March 5th, 2012, 05:00 AM
Senior Contributor

Since I shoot Nikon I can't comment on your camera choice; however I'm wondering what lenses you have, what lens you're considering and what you're interested in shooting.

Old March 5th, 2012, 07:07 AM