Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > More > Elements Village Challenges

Old February 15th, 2012, 10:09 AM
Senior Contributor/IOW Coordinator

Be Creative 221......Creating a Collage with Linear Burn

As we are away, and I have the time now, I'm posting a day early. Going over the tut, I see that my example might not be the best illustration of the tut's effect. I'm thinking others might post a better example. But at least this gets us started!

For this week’s tutorial we are going to create a collage using the linear burn blend mode. As I have never used this blend mode before I thought this might be worth investigating. This tutorial is by Lesa Snider who first explains how linear blend differs from others in its category and can be found here

http://photolesa.com/tutorials/photo...inearburn.html

Although this tut doesn’t lend itself to a before/after as requested by Jim, I do have a copy of my layers panel in case that might be helpful. This is a fairly simple, straight forward tut. Lesa gives a link for creating a B/W seriagraph which is needed as your starter image. The problem I had was in finding backgrounds that wouldn’t overpower my main image. I finally decided to work with two additional layers and ended up creating one myself using brushes similar to the ones used in last week’s tut by Hans. My background was downloaded from morguefile.

Final image:

Everyone’s invited to join in the fun! If you should run into a problem, post back with your questions. Hope you have fun discovering how you might use the linear burn blend mode!

Canon 60D
Aperture 3
PE 11
Topaz Remask 3, Adjust 5, Lens Effects, Simplify NIK Silver Efex 2, HDR Pro2 and Color Efex

Last edited by HMCA; February 15th, 2012 at 10:12 AM.
Old February 15th, 2012, 06:12 PM
Senior Contributor

Send a message via AIM to victry1 Send a message via Skype™ to victry1