Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 25th, 2006, 03:17 PM
nkeevers's Avatar
nkeevers nkeevers is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,683
Images: 36
Loading Picture into Editor Mode

I'm wondering why it's taking over 40 seconds (I timed it) to load a picture into the editor mode. Is this because I have other plug-ins in the program and it's just slower. I just got a new super duper dual-processor PC and everything flies but this is still slow.

Anyone know what's going on?
__________________
Norma
Canon Rebel XT, Canon 40D
lenses IS 17-85mm, 70-300mm
EF 100mm/f2.8 Macro USM
50mm f/1.4 USM

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 25th, 2006, 03:35 PM
CC from AZ's Avatar
CC from AZ CC from AZ is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Norma -

Good question - Yes please Computer pros Help!

I also have to stop and think now cause the PSE4 is the default program in My pictures, My Documents etc and If I forget and just double-tick the PSE4 program opens and it's sometimes a very long time just to view item... If I remember to right mouse tick use another program its way faster... I just thought it was that the PSE4 program is so large... interestingly I also have Microsoft's Digital Image Pro and it uploads very fast...
Does the PSE4 program upload all the photos in the photo browser and so takes a long time???
Help please
and Thanks

CC
__________________
elouai avatar modified by me
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 25th, 2006, 03:48 PM
nkeevers's Avatar
nkeevers nkeevers is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,683
Images: 36
Gee, glad to hear someone else has the problem too! I just figured the program was bigger and better and would be faster. But maybe it depends on whatever else it's loading, how many pics, etc, etc.
__________________
Norma
Canon Rebel XT, Canon 40D
lenses IS 17-85mm, 70-300mm
EF 100mm/f2.8 Macro USM
50mm f/1.4 USM

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 25th, 2006, 03:56 PM
Vesta's Avatar
Vesta Vesta is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,621
Images: 24
I seem to have the same problem, very slow, it also freezes up and I have to wait awhile for it to responsed, I thought maybe it was the trial version.


Vesta
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 25th, 2006, 05:29 PM
MikeH's Avatar
MikeH MikeH is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,927
I don't have speed problems like this even on my laptop which only has 512Mb of RAM. What may be causing it is the size of temporary files and the PSE cache. It's wise to clear these regularly.

On Windows, I suggest that you run the Windows Disk Clean Up program (if you don't have any other ultility software) and then delete the the tn.4.cache and tn.5.cache files in C:\Documents and Settings\Application Data\Adobe\Catalog Folders\My Catalog.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 25th, 2006, 06:57 PM
nkeevers's Avatar
nkeevers nkeevers is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,683
Images: 36
Thanks Mike. I'll try it out and see what happens.
__________________
Norma
Canon Rebel XT, Canon 40D
lenses IS 17-85mm, 70-300mm
EF 100mm/f2.8 Macro USM
50mm f/1.4 USM

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 25th, 2006, 07:20 PM
Ward Grant Ward Grant is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeH
I don't have speed problems like this even on my laptop which only has 512Mb of RAM. What may be causing it is the size of temporary files and the PSE cache. It's wise to clear these regularly.

On Windows, I suggest that you run the Windows Disk Clean Up program (if you don't have any other ultility software) and then delete the the tn.4.cache and tn.5.cache files in C:\Documents and Settings\Application Data\Adobe\Catalog Folders\My Catalog.

Mike
Mike, I am trying to understand the nuances of Elements and have a question. I thought the tn.4.cache was the thumbnails for Organizer. I am not following how deleting this speeds up Editor. Am I thinking of the wrong files?

PS-I run Elements 3 on a Sony Vaio laptop with 512MB RAM and do not see the slow times cited by the other users.

EDIT: Norma you wrote: "I'm wondering why it's taking over 40 seconds (I timed it) to load a picture into the editor mode. Is this because I have other plug-ins in the program and it's just slower. I just got a new super duper dual-processor PC and everything flies but this is still slow."

I meant to ask you this in my original post. Is your 40 seconds with Elements already open and you do File>Get Photo or is it the total time from clicking a photo and having Elements open?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 25th, 2006, 08:47 PM
Daviskw's Avatar
Daviskw Daviskw is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,213
Images: 4
Hi Norma

Sometimes Elements goes nuts and fills your catalog with huge file sizes. Open the Organizer..... then from the File Menu choose File>Catalog>Recover. This will clean and compact your catalog database.

Also if you have made any changes to the preferences it may help to restore defaults.

Butch
__________________
Mark Twain: I don't give a damn for a man that can only spell a word one way.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 26th, 2006, 09:46 AM
nkeevers's Avatar
nkeevers nkeevers is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4,683
Images: 36
The 40 seconds is when Elements is okay and I click on a photo to edit it. I'm gonna check a couple of photos and see if it happens to them too.

Also I'll try the file/catalog/recover. Will let you know what happens.

As it is I just switched to a new computer yesterday and all my photos imported without any file names. I'm still trying to figure that one out!
__________________
Norma
Canon Rebel XT, Canon 40D
lenses IS 17-85mm, 70-300mm
EF 100mm/f2.8 Macro USM
50mm f/1.4 USM

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 26th, 2006, 10:08 AM
Ward Grant Ward Grant is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 1,748
I am hoping you see faster open times with other pictures, although 40 seconds is still extremely slow. Since you have a new computer, how about copying that picture over and seeing what the open time is on the new unit.

Without turning this thread 90 degrees, write back if you need help with your comment about "all my photos imported without any file names". Was that from a card reader?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mode Neglect Byron Gale Pixel Hangout 9 August 7th, 2007 12:41 PM
Lab mode perryp Photoshop Elements Editor 2 July 23rd, 2007 04:16 PM
Lab Color Mode in PSE 5? jackdlane Photoshop Elements Editor 1 June 9th, 2007 09:38 AM
CYMK Mode lukerz Wish List (forum is closed to posting) 1 May 30th, 2006 08:30 PM
which color mode? bnk1953 Pixel Hangout 3 January 25th, 2006 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.