Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th, 2011, 02:51 AM
havov's Avatar
havov havov is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,195
Images: 100
Forcing priority for PSE 10

Currently I have PSE 8 and 10 on my machine. Ten was installed first and later on version 8.
When I double click a psd file PSE8 opens. When I right click the mouse in the Explorer to get the function Open with... the symbol op PSE8 is active.
I don't want to make Elements the standard application for opening pictures.
Is there a methode to force the priority for PSE10?

Hans

__________________
Hans

PSE13 / Windows 7 - 64 bit
Nikon D7000

The perfection is not achieved in one pass


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 8th, 2011, 02:59 AM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,189
Images: 58
Hans,

You may want to check this thread.
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12,13 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 8th, 2011, 08:12 AM
havov's Avatar
havov havov is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,195
Images: 100
Hi Sepiana,

I must admit that I missed that post. After reading I executed the procedure.
I had to browse to find the Elements10 editor. It is not in the initial list. But also not afterwards when I chose that editor.
To my disappointment nothing changes. Elements 8 is still dominant.
What else can I do?
Hans
__________________
Hans

PSE13 / Windows 7 - 64 bit
Nikon D7000

The perfection is not achieved in one pass


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 8th, 2011, 08:28 AM
Michel B Michel B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 2,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by havov View Post
Currently I have PSE 8 and 10 on my machine. Ten was installed first and later on version 8.
When I double click a psd file PSE8 opens. When I right click the mouse in the Explorer to get the function Open with... the symbol op PSE8 is active.
I don't want to make Elements the standard application for opening pictures.
Is there a methode to force the priority for PSE10?

Hans

When you right click and get this dialog with 'Open With',
Scroll to see if 'Adobe Photoshop Elements 10' is shown in the list.
If not, choose the bottom button 'browse'.
Navigate to the folder for pse10:
In my XP, it's in :

C:\program files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 10
and select :
PhotoshopElementsEditor.exe
__________________
Michel B.

Windows XP/Win7-64 - LR 5.6, PSE6 -10-11-12.1, 13 Elements+ - smartcurves - Faststone - Perfect Photo Suite 8 - Canon 20D Sigma 17/70mm. Canon 50 1.8 - Fuji X100S, Lumix TZ6.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 8th, 2011, 09:20 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,703
Images: 12
How it works is a little odd at times and I think it depends on the version of Windows and what happened during installation. First off the default is based on file extension so you can have psd files default to PSE and jpg default to another photo viewer. In Win 7 when you right click, open with, choose default program it should show a list of recommended programs which may or may not include the one you want (mine does show Photoshop Elements 10 as well as PhotoshopElementsEditor (which is actually PSE8). If the one you want isn't there you can browse to it. Confusion comes in part because PhotoshopElementsEditor can be any version and I'm not sure how Windows decides whether to call it by the generic file name or by the version name. My guess is that you could fix it in the registry but I don't like messing with that!

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 9th, 2011, 04:51 AM
havov's Avatar
havov havov is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,195
Images: 100
Thanks guys for your posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyW View Post
My guess is that you could fix it in the registry but I don't like messing with that!
I fear that you are right and I have not enough knowlegde to change this in the registry. When I have more time at hand in the near future I will dive in it again.

Hans
__________________
Hans

PSE13 / Windows 7 - 64 bit
Nikon D7000

The perfection is not achieved in one pass


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 9th, 2011, 09:04 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,703
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by havov View Post
I fear that you are right and I have not enough knowlegde to change this in the registry. When I have more time at hand in the near future I will dive in it again.

Hans
If you do want to play around in the future you could try method 2 at this link

I've never tried it so can't comment on whether it works or how safe it is to use it.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 9th, 2011, 10:05 AM
Preeb's Avatar
Preeb Preeb is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northeastern Colorado
Posts: 886
Images: 4
I've found that XP can have trouble prioritizing, and even with locating programs. On the desktop in my study I have an older XP machine and a few years ago it even lost track of programs in it's own accessory package. I sat down one day and things like Notepad and Calculator (two apps which I use regularly) had vanished from the program list. I had to use Explorer to find them in the folder directory and then pin them to the start menu so I could find them when I wanted them. They would still be lost in Limbo if I hadn't done so.

So far I haven't had any such issues with Win 7.
__________________
Rick
Canon 60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5 - EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS - EF 70-200 f4 L IS - EF 100mm f2.8 L IS macro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by Preeb; December 9th, 2011 at 10:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 9th, 2011, 03:26 PM
garryknight's Avatar
garryknight garryknight is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Posts: 41
Send a message via Skype™ to garryknight
I haven't seen this method in any of the other posts, and though I know it works in XP, I'm not sure about later versions of Windows.

In Explorer (file manager, not web browser), click Tools, Folder Options, File Types. Scroll down in the list until you find the type you want, (e.g. PSD, JPG) and click the item to highlight it. Click the Change button and select 'Adobe Photoshop Elements 10'.

If you want different actions for Open, Edit, Preview, and Print, click the Advanced button. I hope this works in your version of Windows.
__________________
Garry Knight

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 10th, 2011, 08:59 AM
havov's Avatar
havov havov is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,195
Images: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyW View Post
If you do want to play around in the future you could try method 2 at this link

I've never tried it so can't comment on whether it works or how safe it is to use it.

Tony
Tony, this was the solution. It worked fantastic and didn't cost more than a moment. I couldn't resist trying it today. Thanks very much.

To other readers: this little tool is not written for Windows 7. It is for XP and Vista, but it works in Windows 7, as I hoped.

Thank you all for coming to help.

Hans
__________________
Hans

PSE13 / Windows 7 - 64 bit
Nikon D7000

The perfection is not achieved in one pass


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
color skies on auto vs Aperture priority ann2 Photography Techniques 20 August 12th, 2011 05:19 PM
allow for convenient windows priority switching benwood Wish List (forum is closed to posting) 1 January 5th, 2007 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.