Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Mac-specific Elements Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 26th, 2011, 03:24 PM
NettieBee's Avatar
NettieBee NettieBee is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 411
Is PSE 10 64-bit?

I can't find a definitive answer to the question: Is PSE 10 64-bit?

I saw where Premier Elements 10 is, but can't find the answer for Photoshop Elements 10.

Thanks.
__________________
Annette
iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
PSE 11, 10 & 8
Lightroom 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 26th, 2011, 05:07 PM
ATR ATR is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,439
NettieBee

I interpret the following as
Photoshop Elements 10, 32 bit application, running as a 32 bit application in a 32 bit system and running as a 32 bit application in the 32 bit compatibility mode of a 64 bit system.
http://www.adobe.com/products/photos...ech-specs.html
I believe that to be the case for Windows and Mac.

And, I need to clarify the business about Premiere Elements 10 being a 64 bit application. Premiere Elements 10 is a 64 bit application ONLY for Windows 7 64 bit system. Otherwise Premiere Elements 10 is 32 bit.

Typically in Windows 7 64 bit, the 32 bit applications install on Local C drive/Program Files (x86) Folder whereas the 64 bit applications install Local C drive/Program Files.

In my Windows 7 Professional 64 bit SP1, Photoshop Elements 10 installed in the Program Files (x86) Folder and Premiere Elements in the Program Files Folder....all of which is consistent with the above.

ATR

Last edited by ATR; September 26th, 2011 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 26th, 2011, 08:40 PM
NettieBee's Avatar
NettieBee NettieBee is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 411
Thank you, ATR.

The Tech Spec link that you provided has far more detail than the one I found and I appreciate your time and care in providing such a clear explanation.

Annette
__________________
Annette
iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
PSE 11, 10 & 8
Lightroom 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 27th, 2011, 12:05 AM
ricklepage ricklepage is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 758
Images: 15
Photoshop Elements 10 is not 64-bit on the Mac, however.

For the record, I haven't noticed any performance issues on the four Macs I own, one of which is the original Intel-based Mac Pro (the rest are between three months and three years old).

Rick
__________________
Rick LePage
Editor Emeritus
Photoshop Elements Techniques


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 27th, 2011, 12:26 AM
mrod's Avatar
mrod mrod is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,676
Images: 31
I'll echo Rick's comments. I've not had any issues on my MacBook Pro...and it's rather lacking in the RAM department (soon to be addressed, hopefully...).
__________________
Mike Rodriguez

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 27th, 2011, 03:03 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
I haven't had any issues with it either ... both my MacPro and the MacBookPro run it just fine

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 27th, 2011, 04:36 AM
NettieBee's Avatar
NettieBee NettieBee is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 411
Thanks Rick, Mike and Wendy. I'm getting closer all the time to upgrading.

The free trial should be out any day (Adobe said late September), so I may give that a try.

Thanks again.
__________________
Annette
iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
PSE 11, 10 & 8
Lightroom 4.4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 27th, 2011, 05:43 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi Annette ...

I am sure that once you try it you will like it

Upgrading from PSE8 is well worthwhile !!

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 27th, 2011, 06:50 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,628
PSE10 is working beautifully for me on Lion. Better than PSE8 did. I'm glad I upgraded.
__________________
~Julie~

Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for my blog


Mac OS 10.9
PSE13, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 27th, 2011, 06:53 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by NettieBee View Post
Thanks Rick, Mike and Wendy. I'm getting closer all the time to upgrading.

The free trial should be out any day (Adobe said late September), so I may give that a try.

Thanks again.
Annette,

The trial version appears to be available now. Check this link:


http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/in...ents&loc=en_us
__________________
~Julie~

Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for my blog


Mac OS 10.9
PSE13, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.