Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2011, 04:05 AM
LTB1967 LTB1967 is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 96
Canon DPP with PSE 8 ?

Hi all,

Is it possible to use Canon DPP as rawconverter and proceed on to PSE8 with the alterations made ?
Or is it only possible with the ACR ?

Thank you and have a nice day or night depending

Tonnya
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2011, 04:38 AM
Michel B Michel B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTB1967 View Post
Hi all,

Is it possible to use Canon DPP as rawconverter and proceed on to PSE8 with the alterations made ?
Or is it only possible with the ACR ?

Thank you and have a nice day or night depending

Tonnya
I don't have DPP on this computer, but I am sure you can export from DPP in Tiff format that you can open in PSE without using ACR.
__________________
Michel B.

Windows XP/Win7-64 - LR 5.6, PSE6 -10-11-12.1, 13 Elements+ - smartcurves - Faststone - Perfect Photo Suite 9 - Canon 20D Sigma 17/70mm. Canon 50 1.8 - Fuji X100S, Lumix TZ6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 25th, 2011, 05:15 AM
speters's Avatar
speters speters is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grangeville, ID
Posts: 2,016
Images: 157
Yes it is possible as Michel was saying. I have DPP on my computer and ever since I've had ACR, I have not used DPP anymore, since ACR is so much more versatile and the noise remover is so much better. I have never missed it.
Stephan
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PC- Win7/64 bit, 3Ghz, 8GB Ram, 1TB HD, 2TB EHD,
PSE8 (no more),CS5 Extended,-Epson Stylus1440, Epson Artisan 810, Epson Stylus Pro 3880
Cameras:
Film: Pentax 645nII, Canon EOS 1v, - Glass: SMC-A 645 35mm f/3.5, SMC-A 55mm f/2.8, SMC-FA 75mm f/2.8, SMC-A 150mm f/3.5, SMC-FA 120mm f/4 macro, SMC-FA 45-85mm f/4.5. SMC-A 80-160mm f/4.5

Digital: Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EOS 5D Mark III - Glass: EF 28-135mmf/3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L II USM, EF 70-200mm f2.8 L IS II USM, EF 400mm f/5.6 L USM, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 135mm f/2.0L USM, MP 65mm/2.8 1x-5x macro lens Teleconverter 1.4x III, Flash: 2x 580EXII, 1x 600EX RT. 1x ST-3E RT, 3x Pocket Wizard TT5

Tripods and Monopods by Canon, Monostat, Sunpak, Slik, Manfrotto,Sirui and Sachtler

"Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 25th, 2011, 06:00 AM
LTB1967 LTB1967 is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 96
Thank you both.
Im only considering using DPP because I was told at my photography class that using a canon camera the best converter is DPP, but I have never used it before. Maybe its not worth the hassle ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 25th, 2011, 08:13 AM
LeeOtsubo's Avatar
LeeOtsubo LeeOtsubo is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,150
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTB1967 View Post
Thank you both.
Im only considering using DPP because I was told at my photography class that using a canon camera the best converter is DPP, but I have never used it before. Maybe its not worth the hassle ?
I noticed you're in Denmark. I don't know how prices there compare to the US but it's possible your instructor is making recommendations based on local prices and conditions. After all, DPP is included with the purchase of a Canon dSLR. What does he/she recommend for Nikon users?

In my workshops, I always recommend ACR because PSE in the US is usually US$79 (~DKK415) and can be found on sale for as little as US$49 (~DKK260.) Is it possible PSE in Denmark costs more than most students are willing to pay?

It's possible the instructor has a Canon bias. Have you asked the instructor about his/her workflow? You might also ask the instructor to compare/contrast DPP vs ACR. I'd be curious to know why he/she recommends DPP. As others have said, DPP is fine but having to convert adds an extra step.
__________________
Lee Otsubo
The Digital Photo Guy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Learn Photography via Webinar

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 25th, 2011, 08:17 AM
Michel B Michel B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTB1967 View Post
Thank you both.
Im only considering using DPP because I was told at my photography class that using a canon camera the best converter is DPP, but I have never used it before. Maybe its not worth the hassle ?
From what I have read on forums, there may be good reasons for Nikon users to prefer Nikon software... For Canon users, I think it's a personal choice. It is much simpler for me to use ACR but I really can't tell which is better quality wise. There are differrences which can be more significant for you. It's easier to use batch edition in DPP, you have curves and other tools missing in the limited ACR version of PSE. With Canon lenses, you have camera distortion removal in DPP. Is it worth the hassle ? Probably not, but you might enjoy experimenting with two good raw converters.
__________________
Michel B.

Windows XP/Win7-64 - LR 5.6, PSE6 -10-11-12.1, 13 Elements+ - smartcurves - Faststone - Perfect Photo Suite 9 - Canon 20D Sigma 17/70mm. Canon 50 1.8 - Fuji X100S, Lumix TZ6.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 25th, 2011, 08:35 AM
LTB1967 LTB1967 is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 96
Well my teacher is working with Canon ;-)
He claims that DDP software is best for Canon 'Hardwrare' as it is made especiallly for it.
Yes DPP is Free with the purchase of a DSLR, but I bought PSE anyway..
Think I got PSE6 with my Mac and PSE8 with Bamboo.

Thing is, if you use the 'dust-remover' function on the Canon-camera then it wont show in PSE...

I will have a look at the camera distortion. I have only used the one in PSE.

Even though I only use the limited ACR Im pretty content.
But I might have a go at DPP and compare.

Thank you for pointing out all the things I should consider
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acr, acr vs. dpp, canon, dpp, raw, raw converter


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with canon teachfla Photography Equipment 5 July 20th, 2008 04:43 PM
Canon 2S IS ssh1525 Photoshop Elements Editor 8 February 28th, 2007 08:55 PM
Canon 17-55 EF-S Norm F Pixel Hangout 2 September 17th, 2006 09:15 AM
Color: Canon S2/elements4.0/Canon ip6000d/Ilford Galerie paper Dwight Stoller Photoshop Elements Editor 3 July 12th, 2006 09:58 PM
Canon Digital Rebel XT or Canon EOS 20D? Teri Pixel Hangout 18 February 25th, 2006 11:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.