Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Old January 9th, 2011, 06:01 PM
New Forum User

Question Settings with Nikon D3000

Hello!
I just got the Nikon D3000 for Christmas and I'm currently playing around with the settings. Seems like when I see others photos, their pics are alot lighter than mine seem to be. For example, I would like for my pics to be light like the one in the attached pic! I have my camera set to "A", and the ISO to 100 and the exp comp to 1.0. I'm very new to this, as this is the first dslr I've owned. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Renee
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pic.jpg (67.8 KB, 42 views)
Old January 9th, 2011, 06:07 PM

Hi Renee,

I would guess that the photo you posted has been manipulated in post processing to both lighten and add vibrance. Can you post an example of one of your photos that you aren't happy with and tell us how you'd like it to look? I'm sure the experts here can help you either get your camera to produce a similar look or help you with post procesing....

Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for my blog

Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Old January 9th, 2011, 06:51 PM
Casual Forum User

i agree..
post up one of your pics..

also if you can tell us where you got the other pic.. or a link so we can see the post processing...

also side note.. you said your pics are dark... but you didnt say you took a picture like the one you posted...

if you are taking indoor pics and they are dark... and you say I want mine to be bright like this outdoor pic... you need to take a pic like that one..

now im a new dslr guy.. canon guy... but think i can help some..

so what is your camera gear?
you said the camera type.. what lens? need that to see...