Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Old November 22nd, 2010, 05:44 PM
New Forum User

Question Photoshop Elements 9 - Removing Noise?

I'm a complete newbie to Photoshop. I just purchased Photoshop Elements 9 because Photoshop is supposed to be the best. So far, I'm less than impressed because the content aware healing brush crashes the whole program. That's strike one.

I made the mistake over 12 years ago of not hiring a professional to take photographs of my little wedding. Unfortunately, all the pictures came out terrible. The worst problem is this grainy appearance or little specks all over the pictures. I think this is what people call noise? Can Photoshop help me fix these pictures? If yes, can someone show me a guide on how to do this? Below is a link of one of the pictures.

http://www.photoshop.com/users/annes...15efccb5b6875c

TIA!
Old November 22nd, 2010, 06:22 PM
Administrator

Hi, and welcome-

As far as getting rid of that noise (and yep, you're right...that's called noise ), there are several things you could try. By far, IMO, the easiest would be to try this:

1. Duplicate the layer called Background by pressing Ctrl-J (or Command-J if you're on a Mac)

2. On that duplicated layer, go to Filter>Noise>Reduce Noise. Experiment with the Strength slider (as well as the other ones) and see if that improves things (I'd give it a go, but I'm not on a machine that has PSE installed on it right now).

I'm also a bit concerned about the Spot Healing Brush crashing the program. Can you explain a bit further about what you're specifically doing at the time it crashes?

Mike

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old November 22nd, 2010, 07:30 PM
New Forum User

Hi Mike,