Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 4th, 2010, 06:32 PM
2020Solutions 2020Solutions is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 90
Question Thicken the lines in a line drawing

A friend made a line drawing for a logo and scanned it into Elements 5. When he finished "coloring" it he realized that a small version would be great for a stamp or business card. The only problem is that when you re-size it from 8X8 down to 1.5x1.5 the lines in the logo look too thin. Is there a way to select the lines and then make them thicker. I have tried to help him and neither one of us can seem to make it look the way we want.
__________________
2020

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 4th, 2010, 07:54 PM
Diana's Avatar
Diana Diana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan, USA
Posts: 7,630
Images: 14
Without seeing it, it's hard to advise, but if the lines are large enough to select, you may be able to add a stroke from the Edit menu. Or, after selecting the lines, press Ctrl-J to copy them to a new layer, then change that layer's blending mode from Normal to Multiply.

Diana
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Itís not happy people who are thankful, itís thankful people who are happy.

~ Canon 5D Mark II ~ Canon Rebel XTi ~ EF70-200 f/2.8L ~ EF85 f/1.8 ~ EF24-70 f/2.8 ~ EF 24-105 f4 L IS ~ EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon PowerShot S95 ~ Canon PowerShot SX50 HS ~ Windows 7 ~ PSE 11 & 12 ~ PS CC ~ Lightroom5 ~ Pro Show Producer ~ Corel Painter X ~ Printers: Canon Pixma Pro9500 Mark II, HP Deskjet 882C, HP LaserJet 1200 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 4th, 2010, 08:01 PM
2020Solutions 2020Solutions is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 90
Diana,
Thanks for the suggestion. We will give it a try and let folks know how that works.
__________________
2020

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 4th, 2010, 08:39 PM
frank abramonte frank abramonte is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,596
2020, if the lines are not too complicated you can reduce it to the size you wish. Then create a new 300 dpi blank layer over it and with an appropriate sized black brush recreate the lines. When done color it.
If you enlarge the new document it will be easier to follow the old lines.
__________________
iMac 2 GHz, OS 10.9.4 Mavericks , 3 GB Mem, CS4, CS5, PSE 12, QuarkXPress 10.0.0.1, Canon IP3600 printer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 4th, 2010, 09:16 PM
2020Solutions 2020Solutions is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 90
Frank,
Another good idea. I just tried Diana's select and adding a stroke from the edit menu and that worked nicely. I will try your suggestion if my friend is not happy with the results from adding a stroke.
__________________
2020

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 4th, 2010, 10:22 PM
cats4jan's Avatar
cats4jan cats4jan is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,724
Images: 23
for some things, you can duplicate the layer and nudge the second layer over one "click" using the arrow keys. It doesn't always work, but it's simple enough to give it a try.

I use this alot - especially when I want to make a font thicker.
__________________
Janice
______________
Mac w/Mountain Lion PSE11
Epson R1900; Epson NX430 Printers
Nikon Coolpix S8200 Camera


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 5th, 2010, 11:33 AM
2020Solutions 2020Solutions is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 90
Cats4jan,
That is a good suggestion as well. We now have a number of ways to get the results we want. Thanks for everyone's help!
__________________
2020

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 5th, 2010, 07:27 PM
Ellen's Avatar
Ellen Ellen is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Quimper Peninsula WA
Posts: 3,781
Images: 21
One thing about using stroke, if you use the inside option the corners stay sharp, center and inside make them more rounded.
__________________
Ellen


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PET Gallery


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 24th, 2010, 12:00 AM
1low720 1low720 is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Heres a way I use sometimes to thicken up lines on a drawing. Go in to Filters and under Brush Strokes open up the Accented Edges set the Edge Width to antwhere between 1-6 the Edge Brightness to around 24-25 and Smoothness between 1-6 and you will see that you can not only increase the width of a line and also the smoothness of it also. I use this filter at the above settings to some times help add some dark line deffinition to my photos befor I sharpen them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drawing lines ann2 Photoshop Elements Editor 2 May 19th, 2010 03:24 PM
help getting a clean b&w line drawing ilsita Photoshop Elements Editor 14 August 22nd, 2009 11:38 AM
Drawing curved lines... drobie Photoshop Elements Editor 9 March 20th, 2008 03:54 PM
drawing straight lines? rick321 Photoshop Elements Editor 7 September 25th, 2005 12:17 PM
Drawing a line Ayala3 Photoshop Elements Editor 3 August 3rd, 2005 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.