Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 08:55 AM
bythecshore bythecshore is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Set crop tool aspect ratio in pixels, not inches?

I routinely post photos to a blog which requires the images to be 502 x 209 pixels. I've been adjusting this manually, using the image size controls, but what I'd really like to do is have a crop tool setting that would allow me to use a pre-set crop at the correct pixels, just like you can do in inches.

Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 09:46 AM
frank abramonte frank abramonte is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,710
bythecshore, in CS4 you can set the marquee tool style to Fixed Ratio or Fixed Size, this will automatically give you a set crop tool.
The option is available in the top options bar.
__________________
iMac 2 GHz, OS 10.9.4 Mavericks , 3 GB Mem, CS4, CS5, PSE 12, QuarkXPress 10.0.0.1, Canon IP3600 printer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 10:44 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,728
Images: 12
I'm not sure if you can add preset crop sizes although there may be a file somewhere that lets you do it but another way is to open an image that is the correct pixel size and in the crop tool select "Use Photo Ratio". Now every image you crop after that will come out the same dimensions in pixels.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:16 AM
ATR ATR is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,439
bythecshore

No problem. It would be good to know what version of Photoshop Elements that you are using, but for now I will assume that it is Photoshop Elements 8.0.

Click on the Crop Tool in the Toolbox.

In the option bar at the top of the interface:
Aspect Ratio, set for Custom
Width, type in 590 px
Height, type in 290 px

If you take the time to right click the space where you just typed 590 px, you will see the drop list with units that you could have used:
pixels
inches
cm
mm
points
picas
columns

Essentially same holds true for Photoshop Elements 7 Full Editor Crop Tool options.

If any further clarification needed, please do not hesitate to ask.

ATR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:32 AM
bythecshore bythecshore is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks - the "use photo ratio" worked like a charm. Just wish there was some way to make that a preset.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:45 AM
bythecshore bythecshore is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATR View Post
bythecshore

click on the Crop Tool in the Toolbox.

In the option bar at the top of the interface:
Aspect Ratio, set for Custom
Width, type in 590 px
Height, type in 290 px

ATR
Even better. Funny, I had almost figured it out... I tried putting "502 p" in there and it wouldn't take. Just rt-click.... sometimes it's so simple!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:53 AM
ATR ATR is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,439
bythecshore

Glad that helped.

It looks like I took liberties with the numbers that you posted...you 502 x 209 pixels...and somehow I wrote them as 590 x 290 pixels. That was just a typo on my side and not meant to imply magic numbers.

You were doing great with your troubleshooting, but a little help from your friends comes in handy from time to time.

ATR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:55 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,728
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bythecshore View Post
Thanks - the "use photo ratio" worked like a charm. Just wish there was some way to make that a preset.
Glad to hear that worked. Used to be that if you got access to full Photoshop you could set it up there and then copy the Defaults Tool Presets.tpl file over to Elements (I think it's called Defaults ELTool Presets.tpl in Elements. However that was several versions back and I don't know if that would still work.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reset aspect ratio for crop FloridaGal Photoshop Elements Editor 6 September 5th, 2011 02:05 PM
Crop and change aspect ratio? pseuser83 Photoshop Elements Editor 0 April 23rd, 2010 01:58 PM
HELP My Aspect Ratio is greyed out wont let me crop using PSE6 shabbychic Photoshop Elements Editor 4 July 18th, 2009 06:19 PM
:Use Photo Ratio" aspect on Crop tool problem alibony Photoshop Elements Editor 8 March 6th, 2008 11:29 AM
Move tool - maintain aspect ratio ME100FINN Photoshop Elements Editor 7 May 8th, 2006 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.