Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 7th, 2005, 08:57 AM
Foxfire Foxfire is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 72
installing Elements 3.0

I just acquired a new computer system with new epson 4870 scanner and epson printer; running XP home edition on a PC. When I started to install software for the scanner yesterday, the instruction book said to install the Elements 2.0 that came with it and then install the scanner software. Well, I didn't install the 2.0 but the 3.0 version I had purchased and then the scanner software. I then went on to install Nikon 4.0.1 and the software for the printer. Everything shows up as an icon except the Photoshop 3.0. I tried to reinstall 3.0 this morning and it walked me thru the install for Adobe 6.0 as a "repair". Do I need to uninstall the scanner software, install Elements 2.0 first and then 3.0? Also, my computer is not connected to the internet so after the initial "install" for 3.0, I didn't/couldn't register online. Could that make a difference? I'm a little perplexed......any help greatly appreciated!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:32 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
I'm not a windows user so I can't be a great deal of help on this one ... but you certainly don't need to install PSE2 before you install PSE3 and registering the product doesn't change how it acts.

So that discounts those two ideas ....

Hopefully a windows user will be along soon and will be able to help you.

Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:39 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Just had a thought ...

When you installed PSE3 ... did it work before you installed everything else?

Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:39 AM
Foxfire Foxfire is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 72
Thanks Wendy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:41 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
We seem to have been typing at the same time ... so you probably didn't see my last message.

Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:41 AM
Foxfire Foxfire is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 72
Wendy, Actually, after installing 3.0, I just proceeded to install the rest of my software never checking for an icon on the screen. I just assumed since I walked through all of the steps successfully, there was no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:43 AM
Foxfire Foxfire is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 72
Real time.........

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:45 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Oh ... so it could be either the initial install or something installed afterwards that has caused the problem.

If you have the time ... I would probably uninstall the whole lot and start again from scratch, but after installing PSE3 ... check it out to see if it OK.

Have you tried looking in the Elements folder ... isn't there a start up icon in there?


Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:48 AM
Foxfire Foxfire is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 72
I haven't looked in the Element's folder but will check and I have considered uninstalling and reinstalling everything......not quite ready yet to do that, but may.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:49 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Dave,

Will keep my fingers crossed ... let me know how you go on


Wendy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-Installing Elements 5 Try to Buy Grillgod Photoshop Elements Editor 2 April 16th, 2007 03:00 PM
Installing Wendy's Orb in Elements 5.O 2020Solutions Photoshop Elements Editor 5 February 9th, 2007 02:24 AM
Installing Photoshop Elements 5 over Elements 3 imaginos Photoshop Elements Editor 22 December 4th, 2006 08:32 AM
Installing PS Elements 4 peakgolf Photoshop Elements Editor 3 April 11th, 2006 12:46 PM
INSTALLING PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 3.0 NAOUKA Photoshop Elements Editor 1 February 1st, 2005 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.