Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2010, 11:42 PM
New2PSE7 New2PSE7 is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 28
Send a message via Skype™ to New2PSE7
Question Full Edit Mode "Layer Styles" Tab

I am DESPERITE....
I have PSE8 and it has been working just fine until today. When I open full edit my Layer Styles tab is empty, there are no styles listed, when I put my mouse pointer on it the curser changes to a circle with a line thru it. I worked in layer styles just last night and no today it is gone. All of the other tabs still have items in it, it looks normal it is just layer styles that is gone. I have windows 7 OS just in case you need to know.
Can someone PLEASE give me some advise, I am a novice user so i dont know a whole lot about computers, just the basics. I do know how to find the file my layer styles are and i did look at it and all of the layer styles are still in the main file.

Any Ideas? Please let know, I want to go and play I am having withdrawls cause I use layer styles ALL THE TIME
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2010, 12:26 AM
Diana's Avatar
Diana Diana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan, USA
Posts: 7,633
Images: 14
Try resetting the preferences. Restart Elements and as soon as you see the main screen starting to load hold down the Shift, Ctrl, and Alt keys together until the program loads. You should see some sort of message that says it's rebuilding, then release the keys. Hope this helps.

Diana
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Itís not happy people who are thankful, itís thankful people who are happy.

~ Canon 5D Mark II ~ Canon Rebel XTi ~ EF70-200 f/2.8L ~ EF85 f/1.8 ~ EF24-70 f/2.8 ~ EF 24-105 f4 L IS ~ EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon PowerShot S95 ~ Canon PowerShot SX50 HS ~ Windows 7 ~ PSE 11 & 12 ~ PS CC ~ Lightroom5 ~ Pro Show Producer ~ Corel Painter X ~ Printers: Canon Pixma Pro9500 Mark II, HP Deskjet 882C, HP LaserJet 1200 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 20th, 2010, 12:35 AM
New2PSE7 New2PSE7 is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 28
Send a message via Skype™ to New2PSE7
Reset

Hi Diana,
Well, I tried what you recomended and I get the following message " do you want to delete the Adobe Elements Settings files", I said No becasue I wanted to ask you is that what I want? Please advise thanks so much
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 20th, 2010, 02:54 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

You need to say Yes when you get that dialogue box

However I'm not sure that deleting the prefs will fix this one. Have you been installing something into Elements ... like actions, layer styles etc ?

If so just post a message and one of us will post the fix for you

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 20th, 2010, 03:38 AM
New2PSE7 New2PSE7 is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 28
Send a message via Skype™ to New2PSE7
Wendy, Yes, I installed 3 new Layer styles yesterday, I have had them in before but I just recently had to to a complete reinstall of my opertating system and I am slowing 'putting stuff back". To install anything into PSE i use the Add o Matic program ( hope that it is ok to mention that), I have always had so much luck with that program but I was having a difficult time getting it to load the day i installed the 3 layer styles, anyway, that is all that I have done. I did go into my presets today and deleted the 3 styles hoping by doing that it would make the rest of the layer styles show up. As it stands right now all i have access to is filters and Photo Effects, which, i rarely use, i mainly use layer styles. Also, I am fine with uninstalling and reinstalling but I am concered about the message i get when i tried to uninstall it earlier today, it said to "deactivate" the serial number" of PSE in order to install it on a different computer, the part that worries me is that I am not going to reinstall on a different computer, it would be the same computer and i am afraid if i deactivate it i will have nothing but problems when i install again. Sorry so long, Thanks for your guideance, i dont know what i would do without all you wonderful people
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2010, 05:48 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

Its the install of the styles that has caused the problem ... and its pretty easy to fix

What you need to do is close down Elements, find the mediadatabase.d3 file and pop it in the trash ... then restart Elemements and let it rebuild. That should fix it.

Here is the location of the file:

XP ... C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\8.0\Locale\ en-US

Vista ... C:\ProgramData\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\8.0\Locale\ en-US

Wendy
PS .. By the way Deactivating is fine to do ... so don't worry about that. In fact you do need to do it anytime you need to uninstall Elements otherwise you will have problems. I have deactivated many time and it always been OK
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 20th, 2010, 04:06 PM
New2PSE7 New2PSE7 is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 28
Send a message via Skype™ to New2PSE7
You are WONDERFUL!!!! That did the trick, You made me a happy girl again I have always wondered what the mediadatabase.d3 was all about, i see so many posts in different forums about that and now i know, thanks to YOU!!!!. One question i have is after i did all that i did see the contents and effects box come up and it did the rebuild but now my curser is acting weird, it keeps flashing between a normal pointer and then to a round circle, should i just close out and go back in? I thank God for these forums, everyone is so helpful I just cant say enough good about it. 'Thanks for everything Wendy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 21st, 2010, 02:21 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Oh you are most welcome

Regarding the Cursor ... I know that there are some issues with Windows 7 and the Cursor. I'm a Mac user so can't help on that one but opefully one of the windows users will be able to help you

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viewing "B4" and "After" in full edit mode yifatstr Photoshop Elements Editor 3 October 22nd, 2009 01:13 AM
How Do You Use the "Preset Guides" in Edit Mode (View Menu CEHARRIS3 Photoshop Elements Editor 4 September 10th, 2008 08:01 AM
"Frame" layers and "Pass Through" Blending Mode in PSE6 Hummie Photoshop Elements Editor 2 October 15th, 2007 09:59 PM
How to insert the "modified time" attribute in "date taken" attrib in batch mode paltry Photoshop Elements Editor 0 December 16th, 2006 03:44 AM
"Mask" alternative doesn't show in "Mode" pauladobe Photoshop Elements Editor 3 August 15th, 2006 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.