Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Old April 4th, 2010, 01:12 AM
New Forum User

Looking for a new printer

and eventually 2 new lenses. One wide angle, one telephoto macro.

Lenses are secondary.

Right now I am looking for advice a to what printers I should be look for under $1000.

I am NO professional, and never will be. But I like to dabble, landscape, candid, sports, events ,etc. Not into portraits.

I have PSE and PRE 8.0 Spyder 3 for calibration.

a VERY powerful system.

I currently use a Photo Stylus 300. Its great for 4X6 (once I figured out the screen calibration.

But I want more... dabble in black in white. Make larger printers. and just get kind of serious as an amateur.

I was looking at the Epson 1440 or the 2880 (I think that is the one up from the 1440.

I am not practical to Epson, I want a GOOD printer for an amateur with ambition. Something that wont cost too much with ink, and that gives me time for grow.

So, regardless of the manufacture, if you have a printer, lease let me know what it is, and why you like it so much. and if there are any things you don't like, that you wish they would fix.

I want a good solid printer that gives me options, but doesn't put me over budget and make people believe I am a pro. I dabble. I have some pretty good shoots, now I want a REAL printer.

I appreciate any and all advice.

T Hanks in advance.

-G
Old April 4th, 2010, 01:47 AM
New Forum User

Looking for other advice

I have a Cannon EOS 40 D (bought 2 months before the 50D came out).

anyway, I have 2 lenses,
35MM/1.2ft - EFS 17-85
1.5MM/4.9FT - 70-300 MM Macro

I have pretty much everything else, multiple battery holder (makes camera a bit heavy, but my Silk Tripod and Silk Unipod assist there.

I haven't exceeded my abilities yet, but several people suggestion:
- Smaller lens to 35MM
- Wide Angle
- Telephoto (bigger than the 70-300)