Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 26th, 2009, 09:14 AM
Suburbanmom Suburbanmom is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
How to RESET the effects

I accidentally deletes 2 bevel options and want to bring them back.
Any idea how to do that?

Thanks! Amy

EtA: I use PSE 6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 26th, 2009, 09:50 AM
Diana's Avatar
Diana Diana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan, USA
Posts: 7,633
Images: 14
Hi Amy,

You could try the suggestion from this previous thread to see if it works for you:

http://www.elementsvillage.com/forum...ad.php?t=32302

If not, you'll probably have to reinstall.

Good Luck.

Diana
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Itís not happy people who are thankful, itís thankful people who are happy.

~ Canon 5D Mark II ~ Canon Rebel XTi ~ EF70-200 f/2.8L ~ EF85 f/1.8 ~ EF24-70 f/2.8 ~ EF 24-105 f4 L IS ~ EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon PowerShot S95 ~ Canon PowerShot SX50 HS ~ Windows 7 ~ PSE 11 & 12 ~ PS CC ~ Lightroom5 ~ Pro Show Producer ~ Corel Painter X ~ Printers: Canon Pixma Pro9500 Mark II, HP Deskjet 882C, HP LaserJet 1200 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 26th, 2009, 10:06 AM
Suburbanmom Suburbanmom is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
Hi Amy,

You could try the suggestion from this previous thread to see if it works for you:

http://www.elementsvillage.com/forum...ad.php?t=32302

If not, you'll probably have to reinstall.

Good Luck.

Diana

Looks like I'm going to have to re-install. bummer. Thanks for your suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 26th, 2009, 02:46 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

Rebuilding the database should restore the bevels layer styles ... did you try that ??

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 26th, 2009, 04:17 PM
Suburbanmom Suburbanmom is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendy View Post
Hi ...

Rebuilding the database should restore the bevels layer styles ... did you try that ??

Wendy
I tried to follow the instructions in this post, but got stuck. Maybe because I'm using Vista? Thanks so much!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfredd
If this is Elements 6, then try rebuilding the editor's database.

1 - Shut down Elements

2 - Go to (assuming XP) c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\6.0\Locale\en_US

(If you aren't in the US, use the appropriate Locale)

Note that the "Application Data" is a hidden directory, so you will have to enable "Show hidden files and folders" in the Folder Options in order to be able to see it.

3 - You should see a file named MediaDatabase.db3. Rename the file to something else, such as MediaDatabase.old

4 - Restart the Elements Editor. You will see it rebuilding the database. After a while, all things should be back to normal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 26th, 2009, 04:29 PM
Suburbanmom Suburbanmom is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
I've gotten as far as the en_US folder, but there is no file named mediadatabase.db3. I did turn on "Show hidden files and folders, but nothing changed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 26th, 2009, 04:41 PM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14,510
Images: 58
Hi,

If you have Vista, look for the mediadatabase.db3 in this path:

C:\ ProgramData\ Adobe\ Photoshop Elements\ 6.0\ Locale\ en_US\
__________________
Sepiana

PSE7,10,11,12,13 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 26th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Suburbanmom Suburbanmom is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
It worked!
It worked!
It worked!

THANK YOU!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 27th, 2009, 03:26 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

So pleased that you now have them back

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reset brushes twodoor55 Photoshop Elements Editor 3 January 29th, 2009 06:54 PM
Reset Tools palma2012 Photoshop Elements Editor 13 January 29th, 2007 11:59 AM
Reset tools LindaBig Photoshop Elements Editor 5 September 30th, 2006 04:31 AM
I think I need to reset my tools or something Crissyc Photoshop Elements Editor 3 June 20th, 2006 11:05 AM
Cancel becomes reset luckyjon Photoshop Elements Editor 2 April 25th, 2005 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.