Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 14th, 2008, 10:47 AM
denman denman is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Bringing RAW into PSE6

I recently upgraded from Canon 20D to Canon 50D. I had no problem bringing RAW into PSE6 from my 20D but cannot bring them into PSE6 from my 50D. I have formatted the cards with the 50D but this has not helped. I would appreciate any ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 14th, 2008, 11:09 AM
Jeff Perry Jeff Perry is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 2,278
Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), the plug-in that gets launched by Elements to read/process RAW files from major manufactureses needs to be updated periodically to keep up with the new cameras hitting streets. The latest version of ACR is 5.1. Check your version, it porbably needs to be updated. Go to the Camera Raw section of Adobe's web site and downlaod and install the latest version. There are installation instructions as to where to put the file, because although it is the samne file for Photoshop CS4, the plug-in file goes into a differnet location.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 14th, 2008, 11:50 AM
denman denman is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Raw

Thanks Jeff - I downloaded the update as you suggested but I am not very computer savvy. I followed the instructions and found the zip icon on my desktop, opened it and then "guessed" I should extract the files. Was I correct? When I tried to import into PSE6, I was unsuccessful. Can you walk me through the download and install procedure and anything else you might think that a neophyte needs to know? Thanks for you trouble, Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 14th, 2008, 02:15 PM
athegn athegn is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 305
Try this thread:-

http://www.elementsvillage.com/forum...ad.php?t=41808
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2008, 04:06 PM
Jeff Perry Jeff Perry is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 2,278
Denman, I'll assume you are using Windows Xp and you are using PSE 6. Open a File Explorer window and navigate to the the following folder...

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 6.0\Plug-Ins\File Formats

In the folder you should find a file called Camera Raw.8bi

I would suggest you rename the extension to .BAK for safe keeping (or anything else but .8bi).

Now drag the Camera Raw.8bi you extracted from the ZIP archive and drop it into that folder.

After you have verified that ACR loads properly when you open your RAW files, you can delete the ZIP archive file from your desktop.

Every once an a while, Adobe will issue new versions of ACR, usually only to keep up with new cameras, but occasionally adding new features or improving older ones, so try to keep up with the upgrades.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bringing Back Old Tuts mljrbg Photoshop Elements Editor 2 July 25th, 2008 09:58 AM
Need help bringing life into picture twoaussies Photoshop Elements Editor 7 April 17th, 2008 12:34 PM
Bringing in video from camcorder MBoucino Photoshop Elements Editor 2 January 10th, 2008 03:58 PM
Bringing photos into 5.0 twoaussies Photoshop Elements Editor 3 March 5th, 2007 12:43 PM
bringing in photos Nancy906 Photoshop Elements Editor 4 January 2nd, 2006 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.