Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Old October 24th, 2008, 10:05 AM
Known Forum User

Raw Photography

This is my first attempt at shooting in Raw. I have no idea as to whether or not I did it right so wanted to ask: Other than setting the camera on Raw, should the camera be set on aperature or shutter priority or program? In other words, should I take the photo as I would otherwise take a photo with the exception that it is being shot in Raw? This group shot in Raw turned out to be very much underexposed and I had to work on them in the Raw settings. Is it normal for the photos to be underexposed?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old October 24th, 2008, 10:26 AM
Senior Contributor

You use the camera in just the same way. The difference is you now have to process the image in the computer. Under or over exposure will result just the same as a JPEG but the rendering of the image on screen may look different to the JPEGs you're used to getting from the same camera. This is because of the way that Elements interprets the image - not necessarily the same way as your camera.

Big plus for RAW is that this is more latitude for over exposed images. In other words you can recover some of the highlight detail that might be lost in the JPEG.

Net result is you may need to make some processing adjustments to get what you like

Colin

Old October 24th, 2008, 11:17 AM
New Forum User