Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Old May 29th, 2008, 09:46 PM
New Forum User

Newbie-How to get rid of shadow

Hello! I am new to using PSE. I have 4.0 for Mac. I recently did a maternity shoot for my sister. I am just learning how to use my new Pentax K10D. It was a very sunny day and almost all of her pictures have a shadow/sunlight on her arm or face. How do I get rid of this? I have posted one picture here to work with. I look forward to learning something new. Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP2232_2.jpg (71.8 KB, 73 views)
Old May 30th, 2008, 11:38 AM
Senior Contributor

Hi Sunshine,

Removing that type of shadow from photos taken outside on a sunny day is not the easiest thing to do.

There is an adjustment under Enhance > Adjust Lighting > Shadows/Highlights that you can try, and it may help a little, but it won't take out the obvious line between the the shadow and sunlight on the skin.

I worked on the image a little (although being such a small and low resolution image, it's hard to do it justice). This is what I tried.

Before you try this, or any adjustment to a photo, from the menu File > Duplicate. Then work on the duplicate of the photo, leaving your original photo untouched. In fact, just close the original photo.

Ctrl-J to make a duplicate of the background layer (Layer 1).

On layer 1, in the layers palette, from the dropdown menu on the left, change the Blending Mode to Screen. This will lighten the whole image, which is okay for now.

Click back on the background layer. From the Layers palette, click the Adjustment Layers icon (looks like a half black/half white circle). From the menu that pops up, select Levels, make no other changes, just click OK. This will give you a new layer between the background layer and layer 1, with a Mask (the white square on the right of the thumbnail).