Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 06:39 AM
SCRAPPYGIRL's Avatar
SCRAPPYGIRL SCRAPPYGIRL is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 715
Shooting Raw

I'm wondering if anyone makes a point and shoot that shoots in raw. I'm not actually in the market as yet, just getting my ducks in a row if you know what I mean. I have a Canon Rebel XT, but also like to carry a small point and shoot in my purse for everyday use. Right now I'm using a Canon PowerShot 560, which I just purchased about 6 months ago. Any input will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Carol


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 07:46 AM
Ted D. Ted D. is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Raw point and Shoot

Take a look at Canon G9, Panasonic Lumix FZ8, FZ18.
__________________
Ted D.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 07:47 AM
robpendragon's Avatar
robpendragon robpendragon is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 912
Images: 5
Most companies now are making their Point & Shoot cameras with Raw capabilities, such as Canon, Fuji, Sigma, Olympus & so on...Just make sure you check the tech details online or on the package when your ready to make the purchase because not all new models of those said brands will have the Raw shooting capabilities.
I know I saw a consumer rating chart on new Point & Shoots with full tech specs, I just can't remember where I saw it but I'll post a link when I find it
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rob's new website
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 08:49 AM
Chuck S.'s Avatar
Chuck S. Chuck S. is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 4,167
Rob, Canon is going in a different direction. They've eliminated RAW on all their current point-and-shoot models except the G9. Belief is that Canon wants to push everyone to buy their DSLR's, which are more profitable, so they're reducing 'pro' features on P&S. Too bad...but that's business.
__________________
Chuck

LR5, PSE10, CS6, Canon, Fuji, iMac
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 10:02 AM
robpendragon's Avatar
robpendragon robpendragon is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 912
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S. View Post
Rob, Canon is going in a different direction. They've eliminated RAW on all their current point-and-shoot models except the G9. Belief is that Canon wants to push everyone to buy their DSLR's, which are more profitable, so they're reducing 'pro' features on P&S. Too bad...but that's business.
Thanks Chuck, I just saw that after I posted that Makes a lot of sense
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rob's new website
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 11:20 AM
Mack's Avatar
Mack Mack is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Midlothian Illinois
Posts: 497
Images: 144
Add RAW Capabilities To Low-End Canon Cameras

Interesting, looks like there might be a way to beat the system.


The Link

Don
__________________
All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up. Pablo Picasso


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 11:27 AM
Chuck S.'s Avatar
Chuck S. Chuck S. is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 4,167
Don, it works! I've added RAW capability to an older Canon P&S (S3 IS). It's a little clunky, but it gets it done.
__________________
Chuck

LR5, PSE10, CS6, Canon, Fuji, iMac
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 11:32 AM
Mack's Avatar
Mack Mack is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Midlothian Illinois
Posts: 497
Images: 144
How cool, I love it! It says there is a game in the upgrade? I would give a buck to see someone playing "Tetris" on their camera in public. I can imagine people mumbling "poor chap should have got himself a Nikon".
Do you have to boot it up each time?

Don
__________________
All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up. Pablo Picasso


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 2nd, 2008, 02:22 PM
Chuck S.'s Avatar
Chuck S. Chuck S. is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 4,167
Don, the firmware override resides on the SD card and can be set up to self-boot the RAW capability each time the camera starts up. That's how I set it up. Of course, if you use another SD card, you have to put the hack on it as well. For now, I'm just playing, so one card is enough.
__________________
Chuck

LR5, PSE10, CS6, Canon, Fuji, iMac
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 10th, 2008, 08:24 AM
Mike_P Mike_P is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Don, many thanks for bringing this to my attention. This is opening all kinds of doors for my Canon SD800IS, which I loved anyway. As much as I prowl the internet on the subject, I am flabbergasted that this is the first time I've learned CHDK (including RAW, exposure bracketing, etc.) is available not just for the G7, but a bunch of other lesser Canon P&S's.

And so far , it seems to work terrific......not even all that clunky.

-- Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting jewellerys Benny Pedersen Pixel Hangout 2 February 20th, 2008 08:43 PM
Shooting in Raw 100% of the time? HWF Photoshop Elements Editor 22 January 30th, 2008 12:10 AM
More on shooting RAW genevh Photoshop Elements Editor 1 October 20th, 2007 09:35 AM
Shooting the Moon msbrad Photoshop Elements Editor 38 July 1st, 2007 11:22 PM
Shooting in Raw -when? gena Photoshop Elements Editor 16 October 2nd, 2005 01:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.