Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 4th, 2008, 09:04 AM
alibony's Avatar
alibony alibony is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 130
Images: 1
Question :Use Photo Ratio" aspect on Crop tool problem

I'm wondering if this is expected cropping behavior or if something is wrong with my PSE 6. It seems really weird to me... I expect the Use Photo Ratio aspect ratio to constrain the width and height to the proportions of the original photo and adjust the resolution as needed. It doesn't do that.

When I select the Use Photo Ratio aspect ratio, the original image's proportions and resolution are displayed in the options bar.

Then, I draw a crop box around a portion of the image; however, when committed, the cropped area is resized to the exact same width, size and resolution as the original. This causes the cropped area to degrade in quality because it is upsampled.

Note: If I change any of the options (width, height, resolution), the aspect ratio type changes to "Custom" and I've lost the photo ratio.

Thanks for any enlightenment!

Karen
Alibony Web Design and Graphics
http://www.alibony.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 4th, 2008, 09:42 AM
dj_paige's Avatar
dj_paige dj_paige is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,476
You have discovered what I think is a devious behavior on the part of Crop tool. If you want to use the photo aspect ratio and have your cropped photo smaller than the original, then you need to remove whatever is in the Resolution box (make it blank).

Now when you crop, you get the proper aspect ratio, a smaller image, and no upsampling. You get the exact pixels you selected via the Crop tool.
__________________
Paige
"It's nothing until I call it" -- Bill Klem, NL Umpire and native Rochesterian
My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Photos
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 4th, 2008, 10:19 AM
alibony's Avatar
alibony alibony is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 130
Images: 1
More devious bahavior for Use Photo Ratio

Thanks, Paige. It's even more devious than I thought.

In order for it to work, you have to draw the crop box with the original width and height shown in the options bar. After the crop box is drawn, you can remove the width and height and leave those fields blank. (You can't remove the resolution, but you can change it.) Then, it works as expected.

If you select Use Photo Ratio and remove the width and height before drawing the crop box, the aspect ratio changes to No Restriction and you aren't constrained to the desired proportions when drawing the crop box.

Karen
__________________
KarenB
Web Site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Camera: Canon t2i DSLR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 4th, 2008, 01:32 PM
dj_paige's Avatar
dj_paige dj_paige is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,476
I think you are making this more complicated than it has to be.

Here's my steps:

1. Click on the Crop Tool
2. Select Use Photo Ratio
3. Blank out the Resolution field (leave height and width untouched)
4. Actually do the crop
__________________
Paige
"It's nothing until I call it" -- Bill Klem, NL Umpire and native Rochesterian
My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Photos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 6th, 2008, 06:40 AM
alibony's Avatar
alibony alibony is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 130
Images: 1
Testing Blank Resolution

Hi Paige,

I tested your steps and still ended up with an upsampled photo. The original photo is 640x480 px at 180 ppi. Here's what I did:

1. Select the crop tool with Use Photo Ratio.
2. Delete the resolution to leave the Resolution field blank.
3. Draw the crop.

The resulting cropped photo is still 640x480 px at 180 ppi.

What works for me is to delete the height and width after cropping.

Karen
__________________
KarenB
Web Site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Camera: Canon t2i DSLR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 6th, 2008, 06:56 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,593
Images: 12
I think you'll find that it's because you're cropping to a pixel size and not to units like ins or cms. When you use Photo Ratio the units are set by whatever you have the Ruler units set to in Preferences (or if you have the ruler showing just right click on it to change it). Then when you use Photo Ratio to Crop with the Resolution Box blank it should crop to the ratio without doing any upsampling.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 6th, 2008, 09:22 AM
cats4jan's Avatar
cats4jan cats4jan is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,723
Images: 23
I don't use the crop tool - I use the marquee tool

I draw my box - I use Grant's tools to tweak my selection

I use control j - to put that selection on it's own layer

Then I turn off the original layer using the eyeball in the layers palette -

and there it is - my "cropped photo"

I resize using the move tool and the bounding box

Now - my question is - am I doing any degrading this way???
__________________
Janice
______________
Mac w/Mountain Lion PSE11
Epson R1900; Epson NX430 Printers
Nikon Coolpix S8200 Camera


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 6th, 2008, 10:09 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,593
Images: 12
Yes - doing it that way potentially degrades the image. It's the last step that's a problem. When you resize you're adding pixels that weren't in the original image and that isn't a good thing to do unless you really have to.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 6th, 2008, 11:29 AM
dj_paige's Avatar
dj_paige dj_paige is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by cats4jan View Post
I don't use the crop tool - I use the marquee tool

I draw my box - I use Grant's tools to tweak my selection

I use control j - to put that selection on it's own layer

Then I turn off the original layer using the eyeball in the layers palette -

and there it is - my "cropped photo"

I resize using the move tool and the bounding box

Now - my question is - am I doing any degrading this way???
This is a very complicated method of "cropping", involving a lot more steps than simply using the Crop tool. Is there something about the way the crop tool works (or doesn't work) that led you to this procedure?
__________________
Paige
"It's nothing until I call it" -- Bill Klem, NL Umpire and native Rochesterian
My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Photos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aspect Ratio on Elements 6 amyvogie Photoshop Elements Editor 2 February 5th, 2008 08:28 AM
Pixel Aspect Ratio mrisch@aesva.com Photoshop Elements Editor 4 December 27th, 2007 12:37 PM
aspect ratio for cropping dianab Photoshop Elements Editor 8 October 6th, 2007 08:34 PM
Aspect ratio Tina_B Photoshop Elements Editor 15 August 1st, 2007 09:02 AM
Move tool - maintain aspect ratio ME100FINN Photoshop Elements Editor 7 May 8th, 2006 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.