Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 22nd, 2007, 09:30 PM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Brushes and Pixels selected problems

I'm having trouble defining a brush. Though I'm fairly new to using PSE, I have been successful turning png files into brushes, but am having no luck with this one.

When I open the file, choose "define brush" it says it can't complete the "Define Brush command because no pixels are selected."

Any suggestions??? I've made sure the file isn't too big.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 02:25 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

... and welcome to the forum

It sounds as though your file may have more than one layer and you don't have the correct layer active. Just go to the layers palette and check it out

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 03:37 AM
Codebreaker's Avatar
Codebreaker Codebreaker is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 3,441
Just going back one step further than Wendy's advice. You need to make a selection first before you can create a brush.

Then if you have layers make sure you're on a layer that actually has pixels on it.

Colin
__________________
Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but footprints
__________________________________________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 07:41 AM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Well, the layer is selected in the layers pallet...it's highlighted blue and I'm still getting that responce.

One thing I noticted that's different is that when I open the file, there is no b/g layer and the layer titile is Layer 0.

As far as being a layer with pixels...if it's an image (in this case a circle made of dots), shouldn't there be pixels?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 09:10 AM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
In fussing around with it, I've gone one step further and sellected the dots with the magic wand. I went to Edit-Define brush from selection, and it told me the same thing.
I've also re-collored the dots and still, the same responce.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 09:11 AM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
In fussing around with it, I've gone one step further and sellected the dots with the magic wand. I went to Edit-Define brush from selection, and it told me the same thing.
I've also re-colored the dots and still, the same response.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 04:20 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

When you created the dots ... did you put a high feather on them.

That could be causing the problem ??

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 04:32 PM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
A high feather? I didn't create the file myself...I purchased it as a part of a kit of circles...none of which, I can turn into a brush.

If that's the problem, how would I fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 05:34 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ..

What format are the files ??

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 23rd, 2007, 05:40 PM
serenitydawns serenitydawns is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
they are .png
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no pixels selected?? prairierose Photoshop Elements Editor 6 July 10th, 2007 09:02 AM
PE5 Won't stack selected images SteveColclough Photoshop Elements Editor 2 February 15th, 2007 05:32 PM
No pixels are selected. photobum Photoshop Elements Editor 14 September 3rd, 2006 01:21 AM
No pixels selected slophotos Photoshop Elements Editor 10 January 17th, 2006 05:41 AM
Selected photos on CD Shari Photoshop Elements Editor 1 November 27th, 2005 02:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.