Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 4th, 2007, 09:56 AM
JackF JackF is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 75
Question Grant's Tools and PSE 6?

Anyone installed Grant's Tools in PSE6?

Any Problems?

What is the correct Directory path for Win XP?

Thanks,
__________________
Jack

My Gallery of so so pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Nikon D200, Nikon 12-24, Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, Nikon 80-200 f/2.8, Nikon 80-400VR, Sigma 150 Macro, SB 800, Gitzo 1327 Mk2 Carbon Fiber Tripod, Arca Swiss B1 Ball Head
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 5th, 2007, 11:56 AM
JackF JackF is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 75
Really?

No one cares to have a layer mask function in PSE6?

Maybe its just a stupid question.

I'll try it on my own I guess.
__________________
Jack

My Gallery of so so pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Nikon D200, Nikon 12-24, Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, Nikon 80-200 f/2.8, Nikon 80-400VR, Sigma 150 Macro, SB 800, Gitzo 1327 Mk2 Carbon Fiber Tripod, Arca Swiss B1 Ball Head
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 5th, 2007, 12:23 PM
swalkr's Avatar
swalkr swalkr is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,530
Images: 41
I wish I had PSE6 so I could answer your question. I'm surprised someone didn't just jump in on this. The only thing I can think of, is only a handful of people here have PSE6 right now (or so it seems after reading the forums), so give it some time. Surely Grant will answer your question.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PSE 6, XP, and newly added Lightroom 3.6

"Character is what you have left when you've lost everything you can lose." -Evan Esar 1899-1995
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 5th, 2007, 12:48 PM
Michel B Michel B is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 2,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by swalkr View Post
I wish I had PSE6 so I could answer your question. I'm surprised someone didn't just jump in on this. The only thing I can think of, is only a handful of people here have PSE6 right now (or so it seems after reading the forums), so give it some time. Surely Grant will answer your question.
I think the reason why you did not get an answer is that those who have upgraded to PSE6 are still waiting for easier ways to use actions and effects in PSE6. There has been a few threads already to show the path where to install actions, and it differs if you are using Windows or Vista. I have first installed Graffi's first beta action set, which includes layer masks. Watch for his blog for new glamour actions, no doubt he is now solving the main difficulty, which is to organize actions in different folders. This is much more difficult than with PSE5. You can install them, but they are lost in the 'show all' menu. By the way, layers masks by Grant's, Graffi's or Richard Lynch do work in PSE6.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 5th, 2007, 02:00 PM
raindog raindog is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 32
I've been reading the PSE6 instruction manual online. There must be something I don't understand regarding what you're talking about in terms of layer masks, because the instruction manual sure seems to indicate that PSE6 has layers and corresponding selection tools that accomplish the function of masks.

They let you select an area of an image, then make changes to only the selected area of the image.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 5th, 2007, 02:15 PM
Rusty's Avatar
Rusty Rusty is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brookfield, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,109
Hi raindog,

Elements has always had the ability to apply adjustments/effects to a selection; this is not new with PSE6 (which I do not have). This, however, is not the same thing as masking an adjustment.

You can, for example, select part of an image and, while that selection is active, apply a levels correction. Do not use a levels adjustment layer, use the Menu (Enhance > Lighting > etc). Whatever you do will only affect the active selection.

The disadvantage is that this is not something you can subsequently edit as you could had a mask been used. If you use an adjustment layer you get a built in mask.

If you want to make some other kind of adjustment, something not available with adjustment layer options, there are other ways to mask it and have something available for future tweaking.

Rusty
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 5th, 2007, 02:40 PM
raindog raindog is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 32
Hey thanks for providing that explanation Rusty. I think I'm mostly following what you're saying. In other words, once you've made an adjustment using elements built in layer mask, it's done and you can't go back and readjust without reselecting the approximate adjusted area again, correct?

If it seems to complicated to explain, don't worry about it. I may be getting elements 6 soon. I'm sure I'll figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 5th, 2007, 02:42 PM
Juergen D's Avatar
Juergen D Juergen D is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 3,105
Images: 3
To follow up on Rusty's remarks, here is a "hijacked" Levels mask. There are no adjustments in the Levels layer. The upper layer is set to Screen and grouped with the Levels Adjustment layer. Now, after clicking on the mask thumbnail and painting black on the image in the workspace, part of the upper layer is masked. And this mask can be edited.

This was always possible to do and, I'm sure, it can be done in PSE6.

Juergen

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 5th, 2007, 03:24 PM
Rusty's Avatar
Rusty Rusty is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brookfield, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,109
Raindog, you are not quite there yet
Juergen posted while I was preparing these examples; let's add to that

Here I simply made a selection, and while the selection was active (marching ants), used the menu to apply a levels adjustment. As you see, the adjustment only affected the selected area. If you do this, you are totally out of luck as far as editing anything:


Here, I keyed Ctrl-J after making my selection; that put the selected rectangle on a new layer. Then I applied the levels adjustment. You can apply new adjustments to this layer in the future or you could delete the layer and start over:


Now, here's the best way to do it, and this is the same thing Juergen did. After making the selection, click the black/white circle to make an adjustment layer, select "levels", make your adjustment. You can see that the layer mask thumbnail is black everywhere except the selected rectangle.


You have full ability to edit this. You can paint with black or white to revise the mask. You can click the adjustment thumbnail and change your levels settings.

The first two are examples of applying adjustments to a selection. The third is an example of using your selection to create a mask.

Rusty
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:14 PM
raindog raindog is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 32
Hey! Thanks Rusty and Juergen. This helps to shed light on the situation. Not actually having the software to work with makes it hard to know exactly, but it looks like this works well. What you've described offers more capability than I learned, or really had need of using up until recently in my old copy of PhotoPaint 7. I'm saving this page and the screenshots to my personal tutorial folder.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grant's Tools Frank Cortese Photoshop Elements Editor 12 October 30th, 2014 11:21 PM
Grant's Tools J Hawkes Photoshop Elements Editor 14 November 11th, 2006 01:50 PM
Grant's tools III Grant Photoshop Elements Editor 7 December 31st, 2005 05:36 AM
Grant's Tools II Grant Photoshop Elements Editor 8 December 30th, 2005 04:34 PM
How to use Grant's tools in PSE 4.? Eric Schurr Photoshop Elements Editor 3 December 30th, 2005 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.