Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Old September 17th, 2007, 05:25 PM
Casual Forum User

do you shoot raw?

I have a Nikon D70, but have never shot in raw. Just wondering what you shoot in and what is the advantage of shooting in raw. I know you have more control over the image but is it really that much better or ..... should you use it for all the creative images you shoot, but keep shooting in jpeg for all the like, family outings and just quick grab shots.

I can already see this will be a daily hangout for me woo-hoo!

Glenda
Old September 17th, 2007, 05:34 PM
Senior Contributor

Glenda, welcome to the forum.
I just started shooting in 'raw' and have the same questions as you. I guess raw gives more control of shadows, highlights etc. I saw a book on raw 'work flow' while I was out today but had already bought 2 books.
Someone will be along shortly to answer your questions I'm sure
Kimh

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kimh
Im not crazy, I'm just a little unwell
Old September 17th, 2007, 06:36 PM
Senior Contributor

I just started shooting RAW. You do have a lot more control and since your changes to the RAW file are non-destructive there's little risk involved. There's a lot of power in ACR 4.1.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old September 17th, 2007, 07:37 PM
Senior Contributor

I've been shooting raw for a few months now, but with my XT I use raw+jpg. I can't quite give up on jpg although I really like the raw and those are the images I process.

However...

For shooting in bursts (especially small children doing what small children do) I set it to jpg because I can capture more quick shots all at once. Raw slows down the save.
Canon Pro9000 printer; Epson Perfection 2580 Photo scanner