Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 21st, 2007, 11:49 AM
jdvalentino jdvalentino is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Unhappy TECHNICAL HELP...Please?

I have 1gb of ram, and photoshop elements 5.0 requires at least 256K, and prefers 512K, so therefore you would think that I should have no problems.....NOT. I recently upgraded to Windows Vista, and d/l the patch for 5.0 to 5.02, which is the solution for elements.....my problem is I am thinking.....if Windows Vista needs at least 1gb of ram, and elements needs at least 256/512....do I need to get more ram memory? I have contacted Adobe but still haven't gotten a response....The issues with photoshop are as follows.....freezes up and then catches up ......watching the working bar go across the screen when I am only applying gradients or somethingvery simple....it did not do that before Vista.....does anyone have any advise or have experienced somewhat similar problems?....help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 21st, 2007, 12:12 PM
msbrad's Avatar
msbrad msbrad is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 4,602
Images: 22
I'm not one for tech help BUT, there was a thread running yesterday regarding your situation that might help.
http://www.photoshopelementsuser.com...ighlight=vista

My husband does a LOT in computers at a high tech end,
and he always suggests 2 g of ram.
We've not gone to Vista at home yet.
best of luck.
m
__________________
Michelle
canon xti, several lenses (want more)
pse 0, 2. 3,4,5,6 7, 8,9, 10 CS5 [took off 3]
PSP x3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My Scrapbook galleries

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 21st, 2007, 01:37 PM
Punkinsmom's Avatar
Punkinsmom Punkinsmom is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,170
Yep, experiencing some of the same problems. My solution, as soon as my hubby gets a new job, I'm buying a new computer. I'm tired of spending money to beef up a computer that is only 2 years old. I can't keep up with technology, or at least my purse can't.
__________________
Life is short...Eternity is Forever!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sherrie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 21st, 2007, 01:43 PM
sr.prim sr.prim is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
My PC also has 1 Gig of RAM & is running Vista. PE5 works flawlessly on it. Better than PE4 actually. It's faster and more smooth. How many processes do you have running in the background when you launch PE5? And if it lags on certain occasions and speeds up again, something might be running in the background that's eating up the memory sporadically that you might need to disable. So, when you open PE5, right-click on your taskbar and select "Task Manager" from the menu and monitor the programs you have running and how much of your CPU is being used. The process that's using up the most RAM could be causing PE5 to lag. That's what I would check first. Although, upgrading to 2 Gigs (or, better yet, maxing out your RAM) wouldn't be a bad idea. I'm thinking of doing that very thing!

Hope you can figure out a solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Malfunction? harmony Photoshop Elements Editor 30 July 22nd, 2009 07:04 PM
Technical problem javallone Photoshop Elements Editor 1 July 5th, 2007 02:49 PM
Technical Question? kimi_boo Photoshop Elements Editor 9 July 5th, 2007 10:42 AM
Going 5.0 - a few technical q's Simone Photoshop Elements Editor 19 December 29th, 2006 08:33 PM
Technical Help! Carl Zaiss Photoshop Elements Editor 3 November 28th, 2005 07:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.