Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 13th, 2007, 10:14 PM
BrendaC's Avatar
BrendaC BrendaC is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 607
All I wanted to do was..

get rid of the small candlestick that was sticking out of her head. None of the tools are working for me. I thought the clone tool would be the tool to use but it didn't work for me. It would cover her hair with the pixels I wanted, but I didn't want her hair covered!!!!! What am I doing wrong?
Thanks
__________________
Brenda


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Nikon D200, D50, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR, 85mm 1.8, 50mm 1.8, 35mm, 18-70 , Sb800, SB600, Manfrotto tripod and ballhead
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2007, 10:19 PM
Medic1210's Avatar
Medic1210 Medic1210 is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockingham, NC
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Medic1210 Send a message via Yahoo to Medic1210
You know what they say... A picture is worth a thousand words. Post the pic so we can get a better idea of how you need to handle it.

Mike
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 14th, 2007, 04:56 AM
CarolLHB's Avatar
CarolLHB CarolLHB is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North of Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 3,802
Images: 10
Brenda, are you using the clone tool? I find that removing something in a little bit of a tricky spot requires switching brushes and using the zoom in certain areas. For example, if you are using a soft brush at an edge or near her hair, it may bleed in to an area that you don't want it to. I would also recommend frequent sampling when in a busy area. Hope this helps
__________________
Carol
If it's not fun, why do it?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

iMac, Canon Digital Rebel

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 14th, 2007, 12:32 PM
Cmcburnett's Avatar
Cmcburnett Cmcburnett is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,428
Images: 18
Thanks Carol, I use the clone tool a lot, but I didn't know to try the frequent sampling you sugessed.
__________________
Charlotte

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

PSE6; Nikon D80; Premiere Elements 4.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 14th, 2007, 01:53 PM
BrendaC's Avatar
BrendaC BrendaC is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 607
O.K. I'll try to post it tonight. See how you guys would do it and then you can let me know so that maybe I could practice. I didn't think it would have been hard. thanks brenda
__________________
Brenda


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Nikon D200, D50, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR, 85mm 1.8, 50mm 1.8, 35mm, 18-70 , Sb800, SB600, Manfrotto tripod and ballhead
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 14th, 2007, 05:07 PM
GaryK's Avatar
GaryK GaryK is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Georgetown, Ontario
Posts: 8,759
Images: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to GaryK
Brenda

One other thing that catches me all the time is I forget to use a hard edge brush when I need a hard/defined edge. A soft brush when cloning will sometimes overclone(??) outside the brush area.
A soft brush is great for coloning some things but not so good for others.
__________________
A little gaussian blur keeps me young
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2007, 07:45 PM
BrendaC's Avatar
BrendaC BrendaC is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 607

Here's the picture. Please tell me step by step and settings that you used. I don't think a had a hard brush picked. I really dont' understand the brushes very well. Thanks Brenda
__________________
Brenda


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Nikon D200, D50, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR, 85mm 1.8, 50mm 1.8, 35mm, 18-70 , Sb800, SB600, Manfrotto tripod and ballhead
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 14th, 2007, 07:53 PM
mom to 4's Avatar
mom to 4 mom to 4 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 4,448
Brenda:

I am tinking I would use the clone stamp tool. sample the area just to the left or right of the candle and cover it over.

Another thought...make a selection of that part of her head and put it on its own layer. When it is on its own layer, ctrl+ and get the area nice and large. make sure you erase all portions of the candle. Then go back to the layer beneath and make a selection of the area right next to the candle about the same size as the candle. Ctrl c and copy that it another layer.(in between the head selection and the background) then just move that selection over to where it would cover the candle. Done. Does that make sense??????
__________________
Colleen


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Canon Rebel xt; Canon 40D; canon 18- 55 mm; canon 75 - 300 mm f/5.6; canon 85mm f/1.8; canon 70-200 2.8 IS; canon 24-70 2.8; canon fisheye lens, cheap monopod; my fathers old wooden tripod, a Quantaray QSX 9002D tripod, 20 inch IMAC and a macbook pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 14th, 2007, 08:02 PM
mom to 4's Avatar
mom to 4 mom to 4 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 4,448
Here is what I came up with

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
Colleen


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Canon Rebel xt; Canon 40D; canon 18- 55 mm; canon 75 - 300 mm f/5.6; canon 85mm f/1.8; canon 70-200 2.8 IS; canon 24-70 2.8; canon fisheye lens, cheap monopod; my fathers old wooden tripod, a Quantaray QSX 9002D tripod, 20 inch IMAC and a macbook pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 14th, 2007, 08:32 PM
ATR ATR is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,439
BrendaC,

You should get through this like a pro. You have a clear shot at that candle. This step by step puta your cloning on a separate layer, so, if you do not like what you have done, just get rid of the separate layer and start again.

1. Your picture is the Background Layer.
2. Control J to duplicate this Background Layer. This duplicate will be named Layer 1.
3. Click "create a new layer" icon to generate a blank layer above Layer 1. The blank layer is named Layer 2.
4. Select the Clone Stamp Tool in the Toolbox. In the Options Bar at the top make sure that "Aligned" and "Use All Layers" are checked.
5. Highlight Layer 2 (that is correct, the new blank layer)
6. On the screen, Alt click a good clean background area near her head. Release the mouse. Take your cursor near the candle and click away to clone away the candle. It is a quick job, 30 seconds or less. You can play with brush sizes and the like and refine your techniques once you get the basic idea.

The beauty of this way is
(a) you can always trash Layer 2 and start again if not happy with the results
(b) you can adjust the Opacity of Layer 2 if needed
(c) can always flatten layers or leave as is

ATR

Play it safe and reset all tools before you start...just in case.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
critique wanted peaches Show Your Work 9 May 4th, 2007 09:06 PM
Opinion wanted Bayla Show Your Work 26 February 21st, 2007 07:06 AM
Critics wanted jazzfisher Pixel Hangout 18 December 2nd, 2006 02:03 PM
Opinions Wanted Llist Digital Scrapbooking 12 September 28th, 2006 06:52 AM
Just Wanted To Know waydon64 Photoshop Elements Editor 12 March 30th, 2006 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.