Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 1st, 2007, 11:06 AM
nasars nasars is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
How to fade a picture

I'm tryign to figure out how to fade a picture to use as a background to have text printed over the top of it. Such as in a wedding bulliten.

Thanks

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 1st, 2007, 11:12 AM
kroberts's Avatar
kroberts kroberts is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2,359
John,

There are usually several ways to get to the same effect in PSE, but here are a couple.

Use control J to duplicate your original first.

Put a white layer under your original and then reduce the opacity of your photo using the slider in the layers palette.

or

Go to Enhance, Adjust Lighting, Brightness/Contrast and play with the sliders there until you get the lightness you are looking for.

Hope that helps! (And welcome to the forum. )
__________________
Kim R.

A good snapshot stops a moment from running away. ~Eudora Welty


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 1st, 2007, 11:17 AM
scrapperjlc scrapperjlc is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 255
Yes, there are many ways to do this as Kim has said.

The ones I find most easy (if you are only wanting to fade part of the image where the text will be):

1. Make a selection with one of the selection tools, put a Feather on the selection, and on a new layer above your original image, fill this selection with White. Then adjust the Opacity of this layer to lighten it, which will let some of the original image show through as a faded image.

or

2. On a new layer above your original, using the brush tool with a soft edge brush, make your foreground color white and just brush the area you want to fade (a large brush works better for this). Then change the Opacity of this layer to lighten it so some of the original photo shows through as a faded image.

If you are wanting to fade the entire photo, Kim's suggestions fit the bill.

Let us know if you need more help!

Jodi
__________________
________________

Jodi


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 1st, 2007, 04:28 PM
nasars nasars is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Kim

I was able to do the second suggestion, but was not able to do the first, did not understand "Put a white layer under your original and then reduce the opacity of your photo using the slider in the layers palette" sorry if I sound pretty ignorant but how do I put a white layer under my original?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 1st, 2007, 04:36 PM
karen donnybrook's Avatar
karen donnybrook karen donnybrook is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia; south western Australia
Posts: 5,360
Send a message via MSN to karen donnybrook
To create a new layer under your photo, hold down the Ctrl key and click on the "create new layer" icon at the top left of the layers palette; to fill it with white go "D" (makes your foreground/background black/white) then Ctrl+backspace.

To lower the opacity of your photo, make sure you are on the photo layer you wish to lighten and click on the word "opacity" at the top right of the layers pallette (a hand and double ended arrow appear) and slide the cursor to the left to fade your photo.

Hope that helps.

Karen
__________________
"From a land down under"

My room at the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my corner in
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

___________________________
Canon EOS 40D; PSE 6 & 7; Canon iP4000; Wacom tablet;
Pentium Dual Core processor; 1Gb RAM: Windows XP Pro; on satellite
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 1st, 2007, 06:48 PM
kroberts's Avatar
kroberts kroberts is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasars View Post
Kim

I was able to do the second suggestion, but was not able to do the first, did not understand "Put a white layer under your original and then reduce the opacity of your photo using the slider in the layers palette" sorry if I sound pretty ignorant but how do I put a white layer under my original?

John,

Sorry for the confusion, that's why it's good that there is always someone else here to clarify. And remember that there are no questions that you should not ask, I had PSE for several months before I found this forum and learned how to use it! Always ask!
__________________
Kim R.

A good snapshot stops a moment from running away. ~Eudora Welty


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 02:06 PM
nasars nasars is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks for the tips and suggestions! It's a learning process.

John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 04:10 PM
karen donnybrook's Avatar
karen donnybrook karen donnybrook is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia; south western Australia
Posts: 5,360
Send a message via MSN to karen donnybrook
Yes, John, it is a learning process with a very steep curve but it does get easier so hang in there.

Karen
__________________
"From a land down under"

My room at the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my corner in
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

___________________________
Canon EOS 40D; PSE 6 & 7; Canon iP4000; Wacom tablet;
Pentium Dual Core processor; 1Gb RAM: Windows XP Pro; on satellite
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 3rd, 2007, 03:14 PM
bunzino bunzino is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 38
Well, we've gottent to one of my major stumbling blocks. So, I've created the white layer, but the other layer is the one I want to "fade" and it's locked. Clicking on the lock doesn't unlock it. What does? Mac, here -- thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 3rd, 2007, 03:50 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi there ...

It would probably be easier if you posted a screen shot of your layers palette on Pixentral.

Hold down the Command key and the Shift Key and your cursor will change shape ... just drag it out over the area you want in the shot and it will take a screenshot and put it on your desktop.



Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshop Elements 5.0 - Fade Music mntak Photoshop Elements Editor 3 August 25th, 2007 06:51 PM
Fade out the borders of an image by 0.5cm alu Photoshop Elements Editor 2 June 19th, 2007 12:23 PM
how to get a layer to fade rgraber Photoshop Elements Editor 2 May 24th, 2006 09:17 AM
Fade to back MichaelRS Photoshop Elements Editor 1 March 10th, 2006 07:14 AM
fix flash fade on ends of photo ME100FINN Photoshop Elements Editor 10 February 20th, 2006 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.