Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2006, 09:04 PM
Ever ready Ever ready is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Got new computer, want to install previously activated copy of Elements 4 on new comp

I recently got a new computer and I installed my downloaded copy of Elements 4.0 onto the new computer, and input my serial number into the little boxes. When I clicked activate, I got a message that the serial number was not valid. Probably due to the fact that I already used it to activate my copy on the old computer. I realize I can not have a copy of Elements on both computers because I only paid for one.

My question is how do I install and activate my copy of Elements 4.0 on the new computer and stay legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2006, 09:42 PM
troush's Avatar
troush troush is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,195
Images: 6
You should be able to install it no problems (I have 3 on my laptop and desktop). A few things - don't use the caps lock key; make sure your zeros are zeros and your "O"'s are "O"'s - it can be hard to tell sometimes. If you registered 4.0 with adobe, you should be able to go to their website, log in and get your serial number from there.

-Trish
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 13th, 2006, 05:12 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi Ever ready,

... and welcome to the forum

Do let us know if Trish's suggestions solve the problem ..

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 13th, 2006, 06:01 PM
Antonio's Avatar
Antonio Antonio is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salem, MA
Posts: 122
You can also find your serial number on the old computer and/or on the CD holder that your copy came in.

At first I had trouble when I tried to move PSE 4 to a new computer, but it was just careless typing on my part.
__________________
Tony S

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 13th, 2006, 06:42 PM
Ever ready Ever ready is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Still no luck

Tried again with the serial number supplied to me from Adobe Stores in a email after purchase. I still get a error message in an Adobe Activation dialog box stating "You must enter a valid number before activating online or viewing activation options. Please check your serial numbers and re-enter it." I tried several more time, but got the same message. I know I am not putting in O's instead of 0's because the serial number boxes only accept numerical values.

I think I failed to mentioned that the installed copy was from a 30 day trail of Elements 4, and not the one I downloaed after online purchase. I am going to re-download the Elements 4 from Adobe Stores and try again with that copy. Any other suggestions would be appreciated, and I thank all of you for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 13th, 2006, 06:54 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

The demo version won't work you need the Adobe download.

Hopefully when you download it again it will work just fine

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 14th, 2006, 07:28 PM
Ever ready Ever ready is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
The download from Adobe Stores installed just fine. I used the 30 trail because it was handy.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 15th, 2006, 02:59 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ....

Oh that is great news ... so pleased that it worked

Look forward to seeing some of your images ...

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help install PSE 5 on new computer Maria Photoshop Elements Editor 5 December 13th, 2006 08:23 AM
copy catalog to another computer mak Photoshop Elements Editor 2 September 28th, 2006 03:48 PM
copy catalog to another computer mak Photoshop Elements Editor 1 September 28th, 2006 02:18 PM
Re-install on new computer/how to keep tags BAD Photoshop Elements Editor 5 July 11th, 2006 09:51 PM
Comp Cards Carl Zaiss Photoshop Elements Editor 3 February 25th, 2006 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.