Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2006, 05:00 PM
mburwen mburwen is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
How to scale up and maintain sharpness?

I want to double the pixel size (in both dimensions) of a bitmapped (png and bmp) graphic image and maintain sharpness/clarity. I tried every combination of resizing on the PE menu, but the images all degrade. Is there a way to accomplish what I want to do? FYI, I design buttons for touch screen remote controls. The latest remote has twice the pixel resolution of the older models. If I can't resize my existing buttons, then I'll have to redo hundreds of graphics from scratch. Grrrrrr.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2006, 05:08 PM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

Have you tried increasing the size in 10% stages ... ??

... but when you increase the size of something Elements literally just makes up the extra pixels but looking at nearby ones so its not going to be anywhere near perfect.

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2006, 05:17 PM
frank abramonte frank abramonte is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,655
All photoshop files will degrade when sized up. You should start with files which are larger than you will ever need and always size down, keeping your original files as masters for future use. If your graphics are type and/or illustrations you can create them in Adobe Illustrator which can be sized up and down without loss of sharpness.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2006, 05:57 PM
druhl's Avatar
druhl druhl is offline
Casual Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania
Posts: 109
I hope shooting large and sizing down will be a more frequent option for me one day.

I use a 6 meg (and at times a 4 meg) camera and have had acceptable results sizing up in 10% increments as described by Scott Kelby: With resampling turned off set the Resolution to the pixel/inch you desire. Turn the resampling (bicubic) on and increase the height/width in 10% increments to get the size you want.

As Wendy and Frank have already said, it's not magic but I have found it helpful (within limits) in quite a number of situations. I work in .jpeg and .psd formats. I suspect it would work the same in .png and .bmp.

Good Luck

Donn
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 12th, 2006, 08:10 PM
Ric Cisson's Avatar
Ric Cisson Ric Cisson is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sedona, AZ, USA
Posts: 985
If I may, if 10% increments don't work to your satisfaction, try 5 %. Working at the lab we find 5% increments in upsizing does a much better job than 10% in many situations. One tip I can give you is do a save as about half way to your desired size and start again from that point. Do the "Save As" as a PSD and you should see a nice result in the end. Again, it is not a perfect science, but it will produce acceptable results. We have worked with a Rebel XTi RAW File and upscaled and printed a very good 18x24 for a client recently and believe me it was very acceptable, and wonder if it could have gone to a 24x32. One will never know until one attempts. Anyway, this input is from a lab perspective. We have taken 8MP RAW Files and upsized to 24 x 30 at both 10% and 5% increments, and the prints resulting from 5% increments looked so much better in our tests. Just from my perspective, mind you.
__________________
Ric
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 12th, 2006, 08:31 PM
Light and Shadow Light and Shadow is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to Light and Shadow
Enlargement

take a look at some fo the software plug ins to assist in enlargement. Look at fixer labs http://www.fixerlabs.com/New_Website...FRZrNAodSCirLQ

genuine fractals http://www.ononesoftware.com/detail.php?prodLine_id=2
__________________
Sherman Bamper
Light & Shadow Photography

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 12th, 2006, 09:13 PM
Diana's Avatar
Diana Diana is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan, USA
Posts: 7,631
Images: 14
I use Mehdi's Zoom Engine and get pretty good results with it.

http://www.mehdiplugins.com/english/zoomengine.htm

Diana
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Itís not happy people who are thankful, itís thankful people who are happy.

~ Canon 5D Mark II ~ Canon Rebel XTi ~ EF70-200 f/2.8L ~ EF85 f/1.8 ~ EF24-70 f/2.8 ~ EF 24-105 f4 L IS ~ EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon PowerShot S95 ~ Canon PowerShot SX50 HS ~ Windows 7 ~ PSE 11 & 12 ~ PS CC ~ Lightroom5 ~ Pro Show Producer ~ Corel Painter X ~ Printers: Canon Pixma Pro9500 Mark II, HP Deskjet 882C, HP LaserJet 1200 ~
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 12th, 2006, 10:09 PM
sydneysnana's Avatar
sydneysnana sydneysnana is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bothell Washington
Posts: 354
I've used this and it is sooooooo easy and free:
http://www.imphotography.com/downloads/ssimagesize.htm

Michelle
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 12th, 2006, 10:22 PM
Inspeqtor's Avatar
Inspeqtor Inspeqtor is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
Posts: 5,164
Images: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydneysnana View Post
I've used this and it is sooooooo easy and free:
http://www.imphotography.com/downloads/ssimagesize.htm

Michelle
Michelle, does this work with Elements? The website mentions Photoshop.

Thank You!
__________________
Charles


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Canon 60D * Canon XSi
Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC Macro OS * Sigma 150-500 f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
Canon 18-55 IS Kit Lens * Canon 70-300 f4-6.3 IS USM * Canon 580EX II
PSE10 / PSE11
Windows 7 Home Premium - i7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 12th, 2006, 11:38 PM
sydneysnana's Avatar
sydneysnana sydneysnana is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bothell Washington
Posts: 354
I used it in 3 and now in 5. It installs in the same place as Grants tools, and Graffi's Handy actions, but show up in Editor under File/Automation tools. I think Graffi's Add-O-Matic would'nt install so I went the other way..

Michelle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color sketch adjusting sharpness tut christellf Share Techniques 1 November 27th, 2007 11:40 AM
Shift doesn't maintain aspect ratio Diana Photoshop Elements Editor 17 January 8th, 2007 07:53 PM
Default of Sharpness at 25?? frank j klein Photoshop Elements Editor 6 June 4th, 2006 07:33 AM
Testing lenses for sharpness frank j klein Photoshop Elements Editor 0 June 2nd, 2006 04:50 PM
Move tool - maintain aspect ratio ME100FINN Photoshop Elements Editor 7 May 8th, 2006 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.