Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:23 AM
snoopypood snoopypood is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Partially locked layer

Recently, I've noticed that I cannot use the clone stamp to eliminate lighter objects from darker objects. If, as an example, I have a picture of someone wearing a dark colored tee-shirt with white writing on it, I can't use the clone stamp by sampling the dark to remove the writing. I can clone the writing and duplicate it on the dark. I noticed that all of my original layers have a "partially locked" icon on them - I don't recall if this has always been that way or if something in the setup changed. I can't figure a way to fully unlock the layer and even if I make a background copy, I have the same problems wtih the clone stamp. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:28 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi there ...

... and welcome to the forum

It sounds like you have the clone tool mode may have been changed. Select the clone tool then look at the top of the screen and change the Mode to Normal. That should sort it out

The background layer being locked it nothing to do with it ... background layers usually are. To unlock it simply double click on the thumbnail (in the layers palette) and a box will pop up asking for a new name for the layer. Just click on OK and your layer will now be unlocked.

Do let us know if that works OK

Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:35 AM
MikeH's Avatar
MikeH MikeH is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,927
Hi... welcome to the forums

Have you checked the "Mode" setting for the clone tool? This is located on the options bar - check that it is set to Normal...:

http://www.pixentral.com/show.php?pi...tzSlwLA3ARAAZ0

I'm not sure what you mean by a partially blocked icon...

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:36 AM
MikeH's Avatar
MikeH MikeH is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,927
Wendy,

:lol: :lol: :lol: ...

My pc has become seriously slow - must be the heat.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:39 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Mike,

Its either that or my fingers becoming quicker


Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 09:41 AM
snoopypood snoopypood is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Clone Stamp

Wendy & MikeH

Thanks for the quick reply. The mode was set to lighten and when I set it to normal, everything works fine Thanks again.


Thanks also for the help in unlocking the layer. There is so much to learn here.

Snoopypood
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 09:43 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Oh that is good news

When you first start using the software there really is a lot to learn but it does get easier as time goes on. Ask as many questions as you need to ... there is usually someone here who will help.

Lots of tips, techniques and learning material on the site too .

Wendy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 10:13 AM
MikeH's Avatar
MikeH MikeH is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendy
Mike,

Its either that or my fingers becoming quicker

Wendy
That as well, but my PC went on a go slow... and it was slow because I was waiting for it to respond while typing :lol:

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 10:21 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi Mike,

I thought you were joking ... I have, however, noticed that the fan on the Mac is working overtime today. Usually it only kicks in every now and then but its near enough none stop at the moment ...


Wendy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locked Layer woodworm Photoshop Elements Editor 1 August 23rd, 2007 05:01 AM
Locked and missing transparency on layer Fusion Photoshop Elements Editor 3 June 14th, 2007 06:07 PM
layer is locked? yellowsnaps6432 Photoshop Elements Editor 3 January 28th, 2007 10:54 PM
locked layer cara Photoshop Elements Editor 11 April 27th, 2006 09:40 PM
locked background layer-PSE 3-HELP fab5migs Photoshop Elements Editor 4 February 8th, 2005 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.