Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Lightroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old April 10th, 2012, 06:37 AM
Tina_B's Avatar
Tina_B Tina_B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,020
Images: 76
I downloaded the effects free and now I have a problem. After download I got a screen that said I needed a bigger video card, no surprise to me. So I just thought I would uninstall the download and be done with it all. Went to the uninstall and did that and it left behind a short cut icon on my desk top. How do I get rid of the short cut icon? I have tried to delete it, drag it to the trash with no luck. I just get , the target is no longet found at the location ,try again. I can just hide it somewhere so It is not on the screen all the time but how do I get rid of it?
Tina B
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 10th, 2012, 06:57 AM
JulieM JulieM is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tina_B View Post
I downloaded the effects free and now I have a problem. After download I got a screen that said I needed a bigger video card, no surprise to me. So I just thought I would uninstall the download and be done with it all. Went to the uninstall and did that and it left behind a short cut icon on my desk top. How do I get rid of the short cut icon? I have tried to delete it, drag it to the trash with no luck. I just get , the target is no longet found at the location ,try again. I can just hide it somewhere so It is not on the screen all the time but how do I get rid of it?
Tina B
Hi Tina,

You are on a Windows computer? I don't think I've ever encountered a shortcut that couldn't be deleted. I hope a Windows savvy member will have advice for you.
__________________
~Julie~

Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for my blog


Mac OS 10.9
PSE12, CS6, PSCC
Lightroom 5

Canon 5DmII, EF 24-105mm f/4L USM, EF 135mm f/2.0L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 10th, 2012, 07:36 AM
Pete61 Pete61 is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central Canada, eh
Posts: 441
Images: 39
Tina, are you saying that right clicking on the unwanted icon, and then selecting Delete from the ensuing pop-up menu doesn't work?
__________________
Pete

PSE12,10/CS5/LR5/Win7/Win8.1/Canon T3i,SonyRX100


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 10th, 2012, 07:47 AM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,644
Images: 12
Depending on which version of Windows you are using you may need to reboot the computer to clear the desktop. Or click on it and press F5. If that doesn't work I suspect you might need to find where the ico file is stored.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 10th, 2012, 10:55 AM
Major Major Major Major is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 898
As has been said, just right-click and select delete. I've never encountered an icon that couldn't be deleted.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 10th, 2012, 02:36 PM
Tina_B's Avatar
Tina_B Tina_B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,020
Images: 76
I have clicked, right clicked, clicked and hit delete and get the same message to try again. I finally did a reboot and that took care of it. Thanks for all the help
Tina B
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 10th, 2012, 06:08 PM
TonyW's Avatar
TonyW TonyW is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,644
Images: 12
Glad that worked - rebooting is always a good idea when something doesn't behave right - especially if you've installed or uninstalled programs.

Tony
__________________
Win7/PSE10/11/12/Lightroom 5/CC/Topaz/PPS8/Nikon D7000/Fuji X-E1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
onOne Perfect Suite 6 f-stop-over Photoshop Elements Editor 1 September 21st, 2011 05:53 PM
Perfect Layers Public Preview-onOne dspec01 Lightroom 12 April 21st, 2011 03:30 PM
OnOne Software Tina_B Photoshop Elements Editor 13 May 23rd, 2010 12:49 PM
onone software for 39.99 at best buy winclk Photoshop Elements Editor 1 May 6th, 2009 04:23 PM
OnOne Software Tina_B Photoshop Elements Editor 11 January 3rd, 2009 06:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2010, Photo One Media Inc.