Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 06:35 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
Picture from Pixentral...



Is this what I do to post to a thread..? sorry, first time trying to post a picture from pixentral....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 06:39 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
It worked!!!! thank you Julie (moderator!)
OK - so I'm in Elements 10
This is a very basic picture showing her hair across the chin, and some yucky blemish on her chin and across her nose - teeth are OK as she just had her braces off
I am making a duplicate layer when I open this and then I use the brush tool but then I just get awful brown marks when I brush, or a white chalk like effect when I brush. I have adjusted the opacity to take that chalk look away but it looks awful.
If anyone get give me step by step points on how to do this I would LOVE your help. Thank you everybody ))
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 06:54 PM
Preeb's Avatar
Preeb Preeb is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, Bahamas
Posts: 665
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by janeybabes View Post
It worked!!!! thank you Julie (moderator!)
OK - so I'm in Elements 10
This is a very basic picture showing her hair across the chin, and some yucky blemish on her chin and across her nose - teeth are OK as she just had her braces off
I am making a duplicate layer when I open this and then I use the brush tool but then I just get awful brown marks when I brush, or a white chalk like effect when I brush. I have adjusted the opacity to take that chalk look away but it looks awful.
If anyone get give me step by step points on how to do this I would LOVE your help. Thank you everybody ))
I would try the spot healing brush. If that doesn't do it, then play around with the clone stamp.

I did this with the spot healing brush:



Nice photo by the way.
__________________
Rick
Canon 60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5 - EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS - EF 70-200 f4 L IS - EF 100mm f2.8 L IS macro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 06:58 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
THANKS RICK - why can't I do that!!!! what a great job. Did you just choose spot healing brush and thats it??!! did you hold down the option key when you brushed? I have a MAC....

I've posted this picture now which is edited in Florabella Vintage Lollipop BUT I learnt how to put a watermark on - so exciting!!!!!!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 07:46 PM
Sepiana's Avatar
Sepiana Sepiana is online now
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 12,547
Images: 67
Hi janeybabes, welcome aboard!

For this kind of retouching I think the tools to use would be the Spot Healing brush and/or the Healing brush. The Spot Healing brush is great for fixing minor blemishes. Just paint over the area you want to repair. The Spot Healing brush will blend the surrounding area into the blemish you are painting over. This will make the area you are trying to repair indistinguishable from the background.

In the case of your image I just used the Spot Healing brush (Mode = Content Aware). As you can tell I didnít get rid of all the blemishes. I just wanted to give you an idea of how to go about it. I focused on the stray hair, some blemishes on the chin, and a couple on her nose. As you stated you want to learn how to do it yourself, here are the instructions on how to use the Spot Healing brush.

1. In the Toolbox right-click on the Band-Aid icon and select the Spot Healing brush, the one with dotted selection lines extending from it.

2. Choose a brush size just a little bigger than the blemish you want to repair. To do that you can either use the Size slider in the Options bar or you can use the bracket keys -- ] (for a larger brush) or [ (for a smaller brush).

3. Click on the blemish. In case the brush doesnít really cover the blemish, just drag the brush over it.

4. Release the mouse. Thatís it. PSE will repair the blemish.

If you have a large blemish you need to fix, I suggest you use the Healing Brush. When you use this brush you choose the area thatís going to be blended into the blemish area. The steps to use the Healing brush are the same as the ones above. The only difference is that before you begin painting over the blemish, you need to sample material (pixels). You do this by Alt-clicking (Option on a Mac) on an area to get a sample. Then PSE will use that sample for the necessary replacement pixels to fix the blemish.

Hope this helps!

__________________
Sepiana
PSE4 (Windows XP), PSE7,10,11,12 (Windows 7 64-bit)

"You cannot depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus." -- Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:17 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
Thank you so much - I've done what you said and I'm about to put a picture up - you will see what happens when I brush - I am dragging the brush in a squiggle motion and dark brown appears all over the area and when elements then accepts it, it is there but not as dark. I am making a duplicate layer, and I even changed the foreground colour a couple of times to see what happens. I am set to content aware mode - why oh why does it look like this??? :/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:19 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
Here it is with my result ((((

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:46 PM
Hankw Hankw is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fallbrook Ca
Posts: 545
Images: 27
Hi:
Make sure you are using the Healing Brush/Spot Healing Brush, not the regular brush. It's in the toolbar on the left and looks like a Band aid. Hold your cursor over it for a second or two and it will show you both.

Any time you see a little triangle in the lower left corner of the tool icon, this means there are other tools nested inside.

The shortcut key for the healing brush is ( J )
The shortcut key for the regular brush ( B )
__________________
HankW, PSE10, PhotoshopCC, fujifilm f40fd(P&S), Fujifilm HS20, Nikon D40, 18-55 Kit lens, 55-200mm VR zoom, 35mm f 1.8, Windows 7,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:50 PM
janeybabes janeybabes is offline
New Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 37
Thanks Hank - I am def using the healing brush selected via the bandaid and it still looks like that
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:52 PM
Hankw Hankw is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fallbrook Ca
Posts: 545
Images: 27
Another thought:::::

Duplicate your layer when you work on it to save your Original.

Then

Play with those a little to see how they react. Try both, mess with them on a new layer and when you have played enough just discard it.
HTH
__________________
HankW, PSE10, PhotoshopCC, fujifilm f40fd(P&S), Fujifilm HS20, Nikon D40, 18-55 Kit lens, 55-200mm VR zoom, 35mm f 1.8, Windows 7,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pixentral Orphanannie Photoshop Elements Editor 4 August 15th, 2007 07:01 PM
http://www.pixentral.com/show.php?picture=1I1ARBo6kg7XuoJfUtEG14BXAJEC8 jhtowhsley Pixel Hangout 5 June 4th, 2007 05:54 PM
Using Pixentral drileyapple Pixel Hangout 2 April 10th, 2007 05:35 PM
Help - picture too big in pixentral Bama Gambler Photoshop Elements Editor 4 September 7th, 2006 05:53 PM
Pixentral kevq Photoshop Elements Editor 11 July 29th, 2006 03:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.