Elements Village

How to use the forums


Go Back   Elements Village > Editing and Organizing Discussions > Photoshop Elements Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old June 24th, 2009, 08:52 AM
Juergen D's Avatar
Juergen D Juergen D is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 3,105
Images: 3
Wendy,

Yes, it usually has some enhancements and/or new functionalities.

Juergen
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 24th, 2009, 08:55 AM
athegn athegn is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendy View Post
Just a quick question ...

If your camera is supported in one of the earlier versions is there any point in installing the new ACR ??

Wendy
Talk on the Adobe ACR forum, http://forums.adobe.com/community/cameraraw, suggests that there will be some under the hood work on the latest ACR that improves on earlier versions.

Jeff Schewe, who appears to be very close to the ACR development team, advocates using the latest ACR and of course the latest DNG converter for this reason.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 24th, 2009, 09:16 AM
Wendy's Avatar
Wendy Wendy is offline
Enlightened Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 47,717
Images: 103
Hi ...

I haven't tried using RAW before but today I took some shots and am playing around with them ...

As I am using a 300D which has been supported for quite some time so I just wondered if there was any point in me adding the latest Camera Raw to Elements. I will track it down and add it

Wendy
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________
MacPro 2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon, 4Gb Memory, CS3, CS5 Design Premium, CS6 Extended and most versions of Elements
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 24th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Tina_B's Avatar
Tina_B Tina_B is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,022
Images: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayla View Post
Tina,

If I remember correctly you are using PSE5 - ACR 4.5 is what you need. The later versions are for PSE6/7.

Bayla
Thanks, how do you keep track of everyone, you are good.
Tina
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 24th, 2009, 10:03 AM
Bayla's Avatar
Bayla Bayla is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 6,168
Images: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tina_B View Post
how do you keep track of everyone
Probably because I spend far too long here!

No, seriously, I just recalled reading a post of yours a couple of days ago about ACR and you mentioned having PSE5. My kids are always ribbing me about my ability for remembering so much useless information, but sometimes it does come in useful.

Bayla
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 24th, 2009, 10:51 AM
bnk1953's Avatar
bnk1953 bnk1953 is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,139
Images: 12
I've tried to download the Mac version - everything goes fine in the download until it gets to "mounting the disk image" and that fails - meaning - it doesn't go through. Any other mac people having the same problem?
~bruce.
__________________
Mac Pro Quad Core w/ 4 internal HDs, macbook (white), ipod nano, ipod touch (2nd gen), Epson Artisan 810, epson workforce 40, epson photo R1900, 750 GB OWC Mercury Elite Hard drive external, fuji S602z, Nikon D90 w/ Tamron 18-270; Nikon D7100 w/ Nikon 18-300 lens. NewerTechnology 500GB external hard drive, and a partridge in a pear tree.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 24th, 2009, 04:52 PM
lruther1's Avatar
lruther1 lruther1 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,605
Images: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnk1953 View Post
I've tried to download the Mac version - everything goes fine in the download until it gets to "mounting the disk image" and that fails - meaning - it doesn't go through. Any other mac people having the same problem?
~bruce.
At no point should you be mounting the disk as you must manually install. I'm pasting the mac elements directions below. I think step #2 in the directions is not clear enough. Ignore that cardboard box icon in the download that says cameraprofiles.pkg-that is for the auto install which doesn't work in elements. Instead click once on the camera raw plug-in and do edit>copy. Now follow the library path from from your hard drive icon in finder. When you get to the camera raw plugin that is there, drag it to your desktop and paste the one you copied in it's place. After verifying PSE and bridge are working trash the old one you dragged out.

Mac:
NOTE: You must follow all of the new instructions in order to successfully install the Camera Raw Plug-in
for Photoshop Elements.
1. Exit Photoshop Elements and Adobe Bridge.
2. Open the download file and double-click CameraProfiles.dmg and follow the on-screen instructions.
3. Navigate to the root of the local disk (not the userís home folder).
4. Navigate to Library/Application Support/Adobe/Plug-Ins/CS3/File Formats.
5. Move the existing plug-in to another location (for example, a new folder on your desktop). Ensure
you keep this version in case you need to revert back.
6. Copy the Camera Raw plug-in, Camera Raw, from the download into the same folder as in Step 4.
7. Launch Photoshop Elements or Adobe Bridge.
__________________
Lindar Canon,imac

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 24th, 2009, 07:42 PM
bnk1953's Avatar
bnk1953 bnk1953 is offline
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,139
Images: 12
Thanks for the help. I sort of figured it out after finding the actual files had downloaded to my desktop. Thought the "mounting the disk image" meant that it was opening file on the desktop. You are right about instruction #2 - could be easily misunderstood.
~bruce.
__________________
Mac Pro Quad Core w/ 4 internal HDs, macbook (white), ipod nano, ipod touch (2nd gen), Epson Artisan 810, epson workforce 40, epson photo R1900, 750 GB OWC Mercury Elite Hard drive external, fuji S602z, Nikon D90 w/ Tamron 18-270; Nikon D7100 w/ Nikon 18-300 lens. NewerTechnology 500GB external hard drive, and a partridge in a pear tree.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 25th, 2009, 09:14 PM
lruther1's Avatar
lruther1 lruther1 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,605
Images: 49
You are welcome. Doesn't it feel great to actually figure something out on your own?
__________________
Lindar Canon,imac

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old June 26th, 2009, 12:45 PM
stevenm stevenm is offline
Known Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 568
Images: 40
Following your instructions in the thread I also found it easy to accomplish. I was looking at my previous acr and find theres no real way to determine which version it is. Even right clicking the installed file, only thing available is the sign certificate date.



Quote:
Originally Posted by athegn View Post
It looks like ACR 5.4 has now been release:-

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4522

Note - TechNote does not yet seem to be updated:-

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/407/kb407110.html
__________________
Stevenm
Nikon D3000

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

win8pro/64b 12g ram, 3gvideo, 1.5tb hd
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handy Actions 3.0 Released John L Gray Pixel Hangout 2 October 8th, 2007 02:20 PM
PSE 4.01 for Mac has been released artoris Photoshop Elements Editor 1 June 13th, 2007 03:29 PM
RAW 4.1 Released Norwester Photoshop Elements Editor 5 June 1st, 2007 03:19 AM
ACR version 3.7 now released Codebreaker Photoshop Elements Editor 6 February 19th, 2007 09:50 AM
Camera Raw 3.4 Released MikeH Photoshop Elements Editor 40 May 12th, 2006 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2010, Photo One Media Inc.