Elements Village

How to use the forums

Go Back   Elements Village > Photography Discussions > Photography Equipment

Old January 6th, 2012, 08:18 PM
New Forum User

Wacom Tablets

I've never used one before, but I think I'd like to try one to add to my toolbox, I'd be using it mostly for photo manipulation and sketching. It can be hard to "draw" with a mouse. Can anyone recommend a good starter one to use with my PSE4, that won't break the bank? I am not looking for a lot of bells and whistles, just something to enhance my PSE experience, thanks!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gretchen
Old January 6th, 2012, 08:36 PM
Senior Contributor

Wacom's Bamboo Fun line has a couple of models that will work great as a starter tablet. You need to look at the overall size to be sure that you have the room on your desk. If you have a very large monitor, 21" or larger, you should look at tablets with a larger active area, otherwise the pen movements on the tablet become highly exaggerated on the screen and hence it becomes more difficult to control fine movements.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Life is too short to drink cheap wine!
Old January 6th, 2012, 08:47 PM
New Forum User

Thanks for your advice Joe. I'm using an external monitor for my laptop, and it's 17" I think. I will take a look at the Bamboo Fun line.

Gretchen
Old January 7th, 2012, 08:59 PM
Casual Forum User

I have the very basic Wacom tablet, now many years old. It's served me well. I do a lot of photo restoration, some rather complex, and it's all I need. I can't imagine doing photo restoration without it; and it's a huge help with more details photo editing. Unless you're a professional, whatever iis now the entry level tablet would probably have way more features than mine, and would likely do anything you want it to do. No need to spend big bucks.