PDA

View Full Version : Which Version?

VideoImpact
August 1st, 2011, 04:23 PM
Hi guys. I am new to the video editing software outside of Windows Movie Maker. I have been looking for something more advanced and think that I have narrowed it down to Adobe Premier Elements. My question now is what version to go with. 7,8, and 9 are available on E-bay and some auctions include the Photoshop as well. I've read both positive and negative reviews on all of the versions. I'd be interested to hear your feedback. Thank you. Doug

ATR
August 1st, 2011, 05:30 PM
VideoImpact

Premiere Elements questions should be placed in the Premiere Elements Forum here so that they do not get mixed, lost, or overlooked among the Photoshop Elements ones. For that reason, I have moved your thread here to the Premiere Elements Forum.

It is typically best to go with the latest version and especially after it has been out a while so that it has established a "history", this case, Premiere Elements 9.0/9.0.1 which was released about Sept/Oct 2010. You can get a very comprehensive idea of what is what with version 9.0/9.0.1 by reading the two threads pinned to the top of this forum...the first look one and the daily discoveries one. There is also valuable insights into Premiere Elements 8.0/8.0.1 in that area. All programs, Adobe or not, are dependent on the computer environment so check System Requirements before "venturing forth". And, remember that Premiere Elements (any version to date) is a 32 bit application that runs in the 32 bit compatibility mode of the 64 bit system and as such has the limitations of 32 bit system, namely, max supported RAM 4 GB of which typically 3 GB or less of that is available.