PDA

View Full Version : Blurry Photos

Jami1369
February 12th, 2010, 09:45 AM
I am brand new to Elements 8. I have always work on AVID but it has been a while since I have done any editing. I am trying to make a DVD of just still photos. The photos look great on my computer, but when I import them to Elements and put them in the timeline, they are blurry. Do I need to change any of the settings? I have taken the pictures at 3264x1840 and 3264x2456.

Wendy
February 12th, 2010, 09:48 AM
Hi Jami1369

... and welcome to the Village :)

It sounds like you are using Premiere elements so I will tranfer your thread over to the Premiere Elements section ..

Wendy

ATR
February 12th, 2010, 10:30 AM
Jami1369

First, if you are heading for DVD-VIDEO standard or widescreen in Premiere Elements 8, you should downsize those photos so that each of them has pixel dimensions that do not exceed 1000 x 750 pixels. The standard frame side for NTSC DVD-VIDEO standard or widescreen is 720 x 480, and the more work the program has to do to downsize them from "3264x1840 and 3264x2456" to 720 x 480 the more the likelihood of failures. You can batch resize these photos in Photoshop Elements Full Editor/File Menu/Process Multiple Files or Photoshop/File Menu/Automate/Batch. At least one report suggested that the photos should be "clearer" under those resized circumstances.

Are you running Premiere Elements 8 with Background Rendering and AutoAnalyzer features disabled? If not, please do so and use those features when and if needed on a command basis.