PDA

View Full Version : Importing .MP4 Files into PE8

hadonger
January 11th, 2010, 11:32 AM
Hello All,
I'm new to the Village and I'm a new Premiere Elements 8 user. My question is related to importing mp4 files into PE8. I shoot mainly with the Flip Mino HD so I'm wondering if my project presets are incorrect.

Basically when I import an mp4 file, PE8 does alot of background rendering which affects the playback of my clip. I guess I'm asking

What exactly is the rendering doing because it takes up to 15 minutes?
Do I have to wait for the rendering to complete to get a smooth playback of my clip? If I try to play a clip from the sceneline during rendering the vid jumps all over the place.
What do I need to set my project presets to for a Flip mp4 file?
This question is all over the place, but thanks for any feedback.

Wendy
January 11th, 2010, 12:26 PM
Hi ...

... and welcome to the village :)

I will transfer your thread over to the Premiere Elements section as I think you will get more replies if it is in there.

Wendy

hadonger
January 11th, 2010, 01:01 PM
Thanks Wendy!

ATR
January 11th, 2010, 08:13 PM
hadonger

First, turn off the Background Rendering and AutoAnalyzer features.
Background Rendering disable under Premiere Elements 8 workspace Edit Menu/Preferences/General.
AutoAnalyzer disable under Elements Organizer workspace Edit Menu/Preferences/General. You get to the Elements Organizer from the Premiere Elements 8 Editor by clicking on the Organizer tab in the row below the Organize (Orange) Tab. You can get out of the Elements Organizer and back into the Premiere Elements Editor by going to File Menu/Exit of the Elements Organizer.