PDA

View Full Version : Adobe PE8 newbie needs some help please :)

JamieP
January 2nd, 2010, 07:26 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm completely and utterly confused right now. I received Adobe Premiere Elements 8 for christmas and just started using it. I also received a Canon Powershot sx20 is for christmas as well. I finally have figured out the HD video and exporting it onto my PC, but now Im stuck again.

There is a program called zoombrowser EX which comes with the Canon. You have two options when trying to export the video onto your computer AVI OR .MOV. The avi came out grainey and not HD quality where as the .MOV came out crisp. Well it was a no brainer, i was going to use the .MOV file in premiere to edit it. Well when i add the media to my premiere and try to play it without any editing it plays...but now it is flickering when it plays..like a stobe effect..very choppy. I'm really new at all of this and have no idea why it doesnt play. Funny thing is..the AVI file which has not so great quality plays fine all the through without any flickering or stoping during play.

If someone could help me that'd be great, just remember I am very new and do not know a lot of terms one might use so make it elementary for me :) Thank You:)

Jamie

****I'd also like to note the .mov plays great on quicktime, perfect quality!****

Wendy
January 2nd, 2010, 07:46 AM
Hi Jamie ...

... and welcome to the Village :)

I will transfer your message over to the Premiere section as I think you will get more replies if it is in there.

Wendy

ATR
January 2nd, 2010, 10:50 AM
JamieP

1. Premiere Elements 8. If you have not already, disable
a. Background Rendering. In Premiere Elements 8 workspace, Edit Menu/Preferences/General and remove the check mark next to Background Rendering.