PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for video newbie

Chicken Jay
January 1st, 2010, 06:18 PM
Hello, I am very new to video technology...still trying to gain an understanding of video file formats, codecs, etc...and even newer to premiere elements. I just found this forum today and have found some excellent information, which has been helpful, but has also made me aware that I have A LOT more to learn. Though I realize there is no one answer, nor any one absolute approach to video editing, I am wondering if someone can give me some general recommendations or guidelines to how I should be approaching projects based on my camera and my computer as they relate to use within elements. First let me share what my parameters are that I have to work with...

COMPUTER:
Asus Essentio CG5270-BP004
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 / 2.5 GHz 64-BIT
RAM 8 GB DDR2 DIMM 240-pin
1 TB Serial ATA-300 - 7200 rpm HD
Intel GMA X4500 Graphics processor
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Edition

CAMERA:
Kodak Zi8 Pocket Video Camera
Digital Video Format H.264
Flash memory (128MB built in, and 8GB SD card)
1080p - 720p/60fps - 720p - WVGA (I use 720p/60fps commonly)
"videos are encoded as generally compatible QuickTime MPEG-4 MOV files, using H.264 compression"
http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-camcorders/kodak-zi8-pocket-video/4505-6500_7-33740345.html?tag=rnav