PDA

View Full Version : trouble viewing m2t files (from HDV Split) in PE7

serge
December 29th, 2009, 07:51 AM
I have captured some videos using HDV Split (this is my first try with HDV Split), but am not able to view them in PE7. PE allows me to add them to the project, but that's about as far as I can get. The videos were recorded using a Canon HV30. I can view these m2t files just fine using Nero Showtime, so I assume they are ok. I have seen a few posts from others who also had similar issues, but have not found a resolution. Please help me.

ATR
December 29th, 2009, 08:46 AM
serge

When you import these .m2t files into Premiere Elements, Get Media/File and Folders, you will find your file(s) in the Organize Mode (Blue Tab) section of the program. There should be a thumbnail for each of the imported files. Do these thumbnails, representing the .m2t imports, each have a video image?

When you drag one of these .m2t to the Timeline, apparently you are getting a black screen in the Edit Mode Monitor (please confirm on that). Right click the Edit Mode Monitor, select Playback Settings, and look to where it says Desktop Display Mode. What is dotted: Compatible, Standard, or Accelerated GPU Effects? Experiment with this setting to see if this affects the issue.

What is the project preset (new project dialog) that you set for this project..NTSC HDV HDV 1080i30 or other? You might also try the following with one of the video files. Make a copy of the .m2t saved to the computer hard drive, and change the file extension of copy from .m2t to .m2ts, followed by importing the .m2ts version into Premiere Elements 7 and see if that affects the issue.

Let us look at and try the above. I will be watching for your progress.

Last, but first, is your video driver updated even if you are working from a brand new computer?

ATR

serge
December 29th, 2009, 02:07 PM
ATR,