PDA

View Full Version : More ram


Little Nac
December 15th, 2009, 04:51 PM
Hi ATR.
Reading a Thread by cyberioten on allocating more RAM to PE7 (or 8).


RAM:
I have used the command "BCDEDIT /set increaseuserva 2048" to allocate 2gigs of ram.



Could you please explain how I actually go about that and what does it actually do?
Sorry if this is repetitive.
Thanks again, :confused:

ATR
December 15th, 2009, 05:13 PM
Little Nac

Basically this all goes to the addressable memory of 4 GB (deals with virtual memory rather than physical memory RAM) which has 2 GB allocated to Windows and 2 GB allocated to programs.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555223
What you are referring to is called the 3 GB switch, where the user can change that allocation for resource demanding programs...so that 3 GB for program and 1 GB for Windows instead of 2 GB for program and 2 GB for Windows.

I think that we mentioned this previously. I will see if I can find the thread. If not, I will restate the rest. The key search word is 3GB Switch.

ATR

ATR
December 15th, 2009, 05:48 PM
Little Nac

I would proceed with caution going this route….read the following carefully

3 GB Switch

Vista (BCDEDIT method) and Windows earlier than Vista (apparently through the boot.ini file method)

Enabling the 3 GB Switch in Vista
http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/qaID.asp?tip=5551

3 GB Switch in Windows XP
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platform/server/PAE/PAEmem.mspx
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/289022

ATR