PDA

View Full Version : What tripod to buy?

Elemobe
November 19th, 2007, 09:46 AM
I know this is a big question and there is masses of advice and opinions out there, I know, I have been reading them:( However, I would value the opinions of my buddies here.

I was going to get a tripod from Santa (not that he knows/knew) but as it is something I really need to research and be involved in at every stage I thought I would get one myself.

I know that cheap tripods are not good investments.

Gitzo appears to be the best, but the prices are rather high to say the least and I am a hobbyist photographer so I really think not necessary to go for such a high quality

I have looked at the Gitzo rip off called Benro, which look good but I have seen some very negative reviews and nervous of getting one.

So what mid-range tripods would offer good quality and value for money?

Btw, the DOF assignment was the motivation to get this now!!!!

lexcell
November 19th, 2007, 09:52 AM
Hi Linda,

Give me a list of the equipment you use...body through biggest lens and plans for near future lenses and I can make some recommendations. As you mention, there are alot of cheap tripods out there and they simply defeat the purpose of even buying a tripod.

Even though you are a hobbiest, it pays to invest in a good tripod. It will outlast your camera equipment if you buy the right one from the beginning and save you money by not having to upgrade when you realize that the first one, two three,etc you bought are not sturdy enough.

The manufaturers list a max load capacity and I find that they may be right in what a tripod can hold but they miss the boat on stability with that much weight.

I'll give you a range to choose from.

Elemobe
November 19th, 2007, 10:09 AM
Thanks for your reply Laurie.