PDA

View Full Version : Pixentral vs. PixCentral


Byron Gale
April 19th, 2007, 02:10 PM
Many of us are fans of using Pixentral (http://pixentral.com) to host images to include in our posts.

I have noted that someone has (deceptively?) put up a similarly-named site: PixCentral.com (http://www.pixcentral.com/)

This site is also, coincidentally, an image-hosting site.

I supppose it was merely a matter of time before someone exploited any misspellings in attempts to use Pixentral. (Not unlike the former porn site which grabbed the ".com (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitehouse.com)" version of www.whitehouse.gov (http://www.whitehouse.gov) (they have since sold the domain name))

Please take care when referencing PIXENTRAL (http://pixentral.com) that appropriate spelling is used, so that a long-time friendly site is not deprived of intended traffic.

I know nothing of the new site. Neither do I have any affiliation with PIXENTRAL (http://pixentral.com) other than that of a satisfied customer. I just hate this sort of parasitical behavior, and wanted to bring attention to it in the event others had interest.

Byron

JulieM
April 19th, 2007, 02:17 PM
Thanks for the heads-up, Byron...

quillabee9
April 19th, 2007, 02:47 PM
Byron,
Thanksfor the heads up. I've got Pixentral in my favorites; I won't go to the other.

Wendy
April 20th, 2007, 03:57 AM
Thanks Byron ...

I really dislike it when people to this sort of thing :(

Wendy

Brob
April 20th, 2007, 10:08 AM
I got misdirected there yesterday and since I have not posted that many photos I had to search the forums for the instructions again and found my error. By the way I notice there are questions on how to use it so if it is the preferred method of posting could we have a written tutuorial on how to use it? A screen shot could show folks to use the link at the bottom of the page.
Bridget:o

nkeevers
April 25th, 2007, 07:46 PM
Byron, thanks for letting us know! I fully agree.

Byron Gale
May 2nd, 2007, 03:28 PM
Another reason to stick with the original...

...the poser site has been hacked, and now just displays a brag screen from the hacker that took 'em down.

TonyW
May 2nd, 2007, 04:25 PM
Definitely another good reason - that says something about the "other site" which I too stumbled upon via a typo a while back. Never again :(

Tony